Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2002, 11:52 AM   #1
AbsolutelyWhite
Subscriber
 
AbsolutelyWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece - Chalkida
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Camera - Matrix

Have you seen movement of the camera on matrix?
it goes on a circle around the object but goes down and the up while doing that circle movement.I've tried doing it with a nurbs circle and creating a motion path with the camera..then changed the vertexes so the the circle was down and up (like the movement) but the camera doesn't exactly look at the object straight but it follows the up and downs..I hope you understand..

Please help! :-)
__________________
Ioannis KarAvas
AbsolutelyWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 12:35 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You need to use a camera with aim instead of a regular camera. Create -> Cameras -> Camera and Aim (or something like that). The camera will then look at the aim locator regardless of it's translation...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 01:07 PM   #3
AbsolutelyWhite
Subscriber
 
AbsolutelyWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece - Chalkida
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, but it won't attach on my circle!
Attach to motion path doesn't work with camera and aim!
try for yourself to see..
__________________
Ioannis KarAvas
AbsolutelyWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 03:02 PM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Oh, didn't know that... Maybe you could attach a locator to the path and then point constrain the camera to the locator. Dunno... I have to check this later...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 03:36 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ok, the locator idea wasn't that good either. But here's something that works:

- Create a camera with aim.
- Group the camera (camera only, not the aim) with itself.
- Attach the newly created group to the motion parh.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 03:49 PM   #6
AbsolutelyWhite
Subscriber
 
AbsolutelyWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece - Chalkida
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok thanks.. i did it (not with your method though...) but thank you...it was your first idea that helped me.
__________________
Ioannis KarAvas
AbsolutelyWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:35 AM   #7
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

if you ever see the making of the matrix it's about 60 still camera placed around in a giant circle going up and down backed by a green screen looks pretty amazing then they shoot the dodginy scene and go around in the camerass giving it a circling look don't know if you can do it any other way by creating 60 cameras
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:56 AM   #8
AbsolutelyWhite
Subscriber
 
AbsolutelyWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece - Chalkida
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, i've seen it..but keep that in mind..60 cameras were used in order to create a 3d reconstruction of Keanu Reeves,since i am going to do this in 3d with all objects in 3d the sure thing is that i don't need 60 cameras.
__________________
Ioannis KarAvas
AbsolutelyWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2002, 04:43 PM   #9
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Actualy, those camera rigs were not used to grab 3d volumetric data from Keanu.

A CyberScan(tm) rig was used for that.

One thing I would suggest is to find the actual curve of your current camera path, (best done via mel), then duplicate your camera and that curve, and create a new scene file with the new camera and curve data so that you can simply adjust the framerate of your shot from, say, 30 fps to 120fps, render it out, and co,p that into your original shot at the right place

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.