Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-05-2007, 12:42 AM   #1
peetang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Why does moving left foot affect right one a bit too?

This is the second time I've had this problem. I made a human model, made a skeleton, and skinned it. When I move one foot, the other morphs a bit. I had the same problem with a model last year, the very last joints affected one another. I deleted history and froze transformations before skinning, still didn't help. Any ideas?

thanks

-Tang
peetang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:49 AM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

How did you create the other leg? Mirror joints or duplicate?

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 01:33 AM   #3
peetang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the model geometry was duplicated. For the skeleton, I mirrored joints.
peetang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:05 AM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Dont mirror the joints on the legs if the ik is on it etc. This will cause probs. Simply dupe it all and move it...
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:37 AM   #5
peetang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I added the IK after i mirrored joints, but I'll try it out. thanks
peetang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:42 AM   #6
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

idk, to me it sounds like you need to paint the skin weights
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 03:52 AM   #7
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

what joopson said.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:24 AM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Okay, if you added IK after thats cool. If you did it before its a case of having double transforms in the hierachy, Ik RP chains can cause this problem

If you painted weights and mirrored those sometimes it doesnt work properly so give it another go. Theres a bit more to painting weights than just selecting skins and painting on them.

Hold the weights on all joints except the ones you want to paint weights on. Sometimes some verts need to be tweaked in the component editor after as well because some joints may be sharing the skin. Its worth noting too that use the 'add' command only as a rule with a setting of . 2 to start with, this is ideal to use as well if you have a tablet, as you can use the pressure setting to allow for a more controled effect over the joints being painted.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 03:29 PM   #9
peetang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the help. Got it work fine with painting weights. I'm positive that's the first thing I tried for the same issue last year and it didn't work.. oh well. This did. Thanks

-Tang
peetang is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.