Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-05-2007, 02:47 AM   #1
Frankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Vertex Coordinates

Hello, I'm rather new to Maya and was wondering if I could change the XYZ coordinates of ONE vertex. I searched the interface, the help files and the net without success.

I'm starting to think it's right there before my eyes and I'm too blind to see it :/

Thanks a lot !
Frankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:00 AM   #2
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right click on your model, and a little radial-interface will pop up; choose "vertex." Now select the vertex you would like to move, and press "w" to invoke the move manipulator.

Drag the move manipulator around, and have a blast
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:05 AM   #3
Frankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know how to use the move tool (I'm not THAT noob)

I want to be able to specify a coordinate on one of the axis. I want to be able to select a vertex and enter a specific coordinate on the Y axis (for example).

Thanks
Frankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:09 AM   #4
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Allrighty then; I can get a bit more advanced

In the lower-left corner of your screen, just below the time slider, is a white box; that is the command line. Click in there, and type the following:

move -a -_ _

Before you go nuts with that, here are a few notes:

1) DO NOT type underscores in the command line; I merely put those there becase they are variables that YOU must decide.

2) Replace the first underscore with either x, y or z, depending on which axis you want to move your selection along.

3) Replace the second underscore with any number; positive or negative. Decimals are allowed.

Press enter.
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 04:46 AM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

or just use the control panel :p
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:50 AM   #6
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, let's not get ahead of ourselves.

For something simple like this you can just select the verts and go to Window->general editors->component editor. go to polygons or whatever and type in whatever values you want for the xyz

the command panel doesn't work in world space so that won't get you what you probably want.

Last edited by Funky Bunnies : 09-05-2007 at 06:53 AM.
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.