Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Technical Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-05-2007, 03:27 AM   #1
xyless
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multiple problems (white screen, flickers with paint effects, cursors leave ghosts)

Whenever I go to another window (or another subwindow of Maya), my viewports turn white until I interact with one again. This wasn't too much of a problem until recently.



I started learning Paint Effects, and decided to give them a try. However, when using 3D Paint Effects if I move my cursor over something that's paintable, it flickers white every frame you move and doesn't remove the previous cursor, which means it leaves red streaks and flickers every frame, basically.

For example, the below picture was tediously done. It made me tired because it flickered enough to cause a seizure or something. NOtice that every single circle is a cursor, not a paint effect.






This is Maya 8.0. My computer's specs are...
MoBo: Asus® A8N SLI Deluxe - NVIDIA® nForce™ 4 SLI MCP, PCI Express Motherboard with DDR

AMD Processor: AMD® Athlon™ 64 4000+ Processor, 939-pin (I...think it's 2.4GHz)

DDR Memory: 2048MB PC3200 DDR400 Memory (4x512)

PCX Video: 2 x 256MB eVGA™ NVIDIA® GeForce™ 7800 GTX in SLI

2 x 120GB Western Digital WD1200JD 7200rpm SATA/150, 8MB Cache - RAID 0 Stripe (240GB Total)



I am running on Windows Vista, but even when I was on Windows XP the same thing happened. Any ideas?
xyless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 06:06 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

try deleting the preferences folder, you could just rename the folder 'old prefs' if you like and a new 'prefs' folder will be created automatically next time you boot up. I just solved some major problems with new software conflicts this way, , you probably know all this anyway

my documents/maya/maya 8/prefs

(I have 7 and 8.5 so maybe its created a separate folder for each in my case)

if that doesn't work I;d be thinking 'motherboard.' but some of the other boys here are much better equipped with tech knowledge than me

good luck, I had this happen to me just before the motherboard went, or actually for about 12 months, it just got worse.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy

Last edited by mirek03 : 13-05-2007 at 06:09 AM.
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 08:54 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Soinds like a graphics card issue, as the ones that you are using are not "truley" compatable with maya (see autodesks qualification charts). YOu could try downloading the latest drivers to see if that solves the problem
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 09:03 AM   #4
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I was going to say that but in my case it was the motherboard?? I think it is hardware on the way out.., as you say drivers might fix it but what do you think the chances really are of that?
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 11:54 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quite a bit to be honest, if you look on other forums it's quite a common occurance and most of the time changing the drivers helps to solve the problem, or sometimes changing the anti aliasing settings sorts it out too, have a look in the maya section of cgtalk as theres lots of threads on little glitches like this.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 12:45 PM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

This is either on MAC OSX or Vista. tbh Autodesk state that no current Maya release is supported on Vista, so be aware and get XP back on. Its too early in Vistas life to install it. very little supported software of leacy drivers. Also if its MAC OSX, Maya 8.5 is very buggy on that system. So no luck really.

I suggest downgrading to XP and getting your system up to date.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 10:54 PM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

ok, live and learn
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.