Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-05-2007, 04:59 AM   #1
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default Zbrush 3

Hey Guys

I'll be upgrading later on today to Z3 (I have my download instructions at last!!) so I'll keep you posted on it and how good it is. If anyone else gets it too be sure to post your thoughts for other potential users

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 07:29 AM   #2
papalatistudios
Subscriber
 
papalatistudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Newport, KY USA
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So is it finally 64-bit supported? I've kinda been restricted on using Z just because I didnt want to dual boot and I only had x64 with 4GB.
__________________
www.papalati.com
papalatistudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 10:01 AM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

dang thats i nice computer in contrass to mine!



i just upgreated to 1GB in ram

and my computer is 4 1\2 stinkin years old i should be getting a sweet new one at teh end of the year.




ZBrush looks cool i should get the money and buy it some time...


lol money doesnt come around that easy for a 16year old
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 10:33 AM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Yup it supports 64 and 32 bit

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 11:02 AM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by starjsjswars


lol money doesnt come around that easy for a 16year old [/b]
haha, I know what you mean, I'm almost 24 with a full time job and money still doesn't come easy

I've never used ZBrush, wish I could get it, but then again I don't really fully understand it or maya yet so maybe it's just best I don't worry about it.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 12:12 PM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anyone know when this is hitting the Mac, for those of us that still have a PPC?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 01:40 PM   #7
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

theres a notice up on the pixologic site regarding the mac version.

I think you have to contact them to find out what the deal is...

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 02:50 PM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Well what can I say?

Absolutely stunning so far I just divided a model up to 2,700,000 polys and it just flew in the sculpt. Im not kidding here either.

Im only running a gig and a half of ram with 128 on the card, its a vast improvement over version 2 which was bloody good but tended to stall in the hi poly counts like this.

The shaders are better, and if Im not mistaken the models look alot sharper (hd) and the real time shadows are freakin great. theres been some serious thought gone into this and I think this will change the industry again! The rewrite has done it the world of good, now its just a case of becoming accustomed with the new features and the reworking of the interface, which incidently has a new option button for rapid ui and the classic ui.

am going to have a good look over the weekend...watch this space...

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:28 PM   #9
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jay
Well what can I say?

Absolutely stunning so far I just divided a model up to 2,700,000 polys and it just flew in the sculpt. Im not kidding here either.

Im only running a gig and a half of ram with 128 on the card, its a vast improvement over version 2 which was bloody good but tended to stall in the hi poly counts like this.

The shaders are better, and if Im not mistaken the models look alot sharper (hd) and the real time shadows are freakin great. theres been some serious thought gone into this and I think this will change the industry again! The rewrite has done it the world of good, now its just a case of becoming accustomed with the new features and the reworking of the interface, which incidently has a new option button for rapid ui and the classic ui.

am going to have a good look over the weekend...watch this space...

Cheers
Jay
im watching

tell me Jay, does the new Zapplink lets you paint flat on the model 's UV or is it still just a projection? [meaning flat like you would normally in PS, i know the old Zapplink just catures a projection of your current workspace and does not truelly lets you paint on the model in PS]

can you paint textures in layers?

can you export or bake materials
:blush:
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:46 PM   #10
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey Vlad

I'll keep you posted, I know you can paint in 3d etc now and paint displacements without flattening to canvas and as for Zapplink, I never used the last one LOL.

As forthe other stuff I dont know yet...

Cheers dude
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:49 PM   #11
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Vlad

Zapplink now lets you store views to paint along with character sheets of your model. New masking and a ton of other stuff

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 05:34 PM   #12
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

thanks Jay. thats good to hear.

post some stuff over the weekend
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 06:27 PM   #13
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

It would be nice to get a comparison on ZBrush 3 and Mudbox.

I have tried ZBrush and found the UI just too much to take in, I have had a play with Mudbox and already I am finding it easier.

Mudbox uses the same controls for Pan, Zoom and Rotate that Maya does, so already its easier. I think it would be nice to compare that two, so people can get an understanding of both apps and their pros and cons. Maybe this is something that can added to the new site. Software tests!!!

Comments?
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2007, 12:17 AM   #14
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

The comparison would be the same, the controls on Z are pretty much the same as before, its just faster etc and the polycounts can go to a billion if your machine allows you too.

What you have to remember is that Mudbox is pure sculpting whereas Z is more, with its texture and modelling features

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2007, 04:02 AM   #15
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Theres a little featuer on Z3 over at the CG sociaty thats worth a look.

Be looking forward to seeing some creations from you Jay!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.