Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-06-2007, 08:19 AM   #1
Doug732
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Can't select Border edge

I have been trying for several days to figure out how to select an entire border edge. After I select "edge" from my hot box and select my edge I hold (ctrl) right click to bring up the secondary hot box. This is where I double left click(to select the border edge). When I try to double click on the edge only the single edge is highlited in orange. For some reason the entire border does not highlight.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong and can someone please suggest a solution.:headbang:
Doug732 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 08:22 AM   #2
Hex3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just offering input and a non quick solution but you can shift-select the borders manually.. i know kind of noobish but it works..
__________________
Hex3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 12:09 PM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

it may be that your faces aren't connected. try opening polygons>tool options and see if the keep faces together option is checked. if this isn't checked and you extruded, then the faces won't be connected and you can't select continous border edges. try selecting all the vertices and do merge vertex and try again.

also, post a picture - it just helps us see what's going on.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:21 AM   #4
Doug732
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I still need help

Thanks arran but this has not sovled my problem. I am still very confused. Thankyou anyway.
Doug732 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:11 PM   #5
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Maybe there's another edge directly on top of your selected edge?
Happened to me once when I attempted to extrude but forgot to pull out anything.

Check by selecting one edge and pull it aside.

Hope this narrows down you troubleshooting list.
parka is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.