Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-12-2002, 11:49 AM   #1
aten
Registered User
 
aten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default scale axis

Hi, anyone know a good way to scale along an arbitrary axis. Say in the pic here i wanna scale that arm along an axis that follows the direction of the arm rather than the global x,y,z one. Seems you cant change the pivot? In Max it would let you pick another object's axis to scale around surely you can do this in maya too!?

cheers - Aten.
aten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2002, 04:26 PM   #2
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good Question!
I want to know this too!!!

Anybody?
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2002, 04:34 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I believe I know, but I need to confirm... I'll get back to you.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 11:51 AM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ooh interesting, mines seem to use local coordinates all the time when scaling
you would expect there to be an option for the scale to be run using world and object
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 12:49 PM   #5
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is a trick!

I think I used this once or twice.

Instead of trying to manipulate the pivot points axis';
1) Make a primitive
2) Rotate the primitive to align it to the objects you are about to scale bigger
3) Parent the whole thing to the, say a cube.
4) Adjust the cubes pivot point if needed, to make your bunch of objects scale bigger or smaller from a certain centerpoint.
5) Then scale the children by scaling the parent cube.

I'm sure this works. Your objects will inherit the scale-axis' of the cube.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!

Last edited by undseth : 15-12-2002 at 12:51 PM.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 12:51 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Ok, I took a look at this...

When you create an object and try to scale the vertices, it will scale along the object.

UNLESS

You've frozen transformations... Freezing transformations makes the object "freeze" at its current position and resets the channel controls back to default, which when you created the object were aligned with the world coordinates. So, it's still scaling with local coordinates, but your local axis happens to match your world axis...

Hope that made sense.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2002, 09:37 AM   #7
aten
Registered User
 
aten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah the parent thing worked, but it doesnt work on a selection set of verts unfortunately - only at object level. Seems stupid you cant change the scale axis easily - should tell A/W. I was thinking there must be a simple way of doing it if no-ones missed it til now.

cheers.
aten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2002, 02:37 PM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

isn't this something like Local Axis Rotation?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2002, 03:56 PM   #9
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try this I am not sure if this is what you want ?

go to Modify/Tranform Tools/Move Normal Tool

Try it
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2002, 04:32 PM   #10
aten
Registered User
 
aten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not quite, I tried it and got something close but the normals aren't exactly aligned in the 2d plane so they go off a little bit skewy.
aten is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.