Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-06-2007, 04:53 AM   #1
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default A quick Modelling question

I've looked and looked and can't find info on this, but I swear I remember doing it years ago when I was learning Maya . . .

I'm creating a model of an actual building (from photos and blue prints) for a client. I've got the basic structure, and now I'm adding detail like doors and windows. It's an older building, and the window wells and door frames have a unique shape, not just rectangles.

I seem to remember using one object to delete a chunk out of another object. I think that's gonna be the best way to do this, but I can't remember how and I'm looking and not seeing what I'm looking for in the help section.

Can I create an object and use that object to delete big chunks out of another object?
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 05:00 AM   #2
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do I need to combine the polygons, and then start deleting stuff? Or is there a way to position one polygon and use some tool so that if it were deleted, it would leave an impression of itself in the other object?
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 05:31 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think what youÕre looking for here is Booleans (I think itÕs Booleans>Difference to be exact).
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 05:44 AM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I think that you're thinking about booleans, see the attached image.

There are a couple of different boolean operations (combine, difference and intersection) and how they work depends on the order that you select the geometry. In the image I selected the sphere then the cylinder and hit bolean difference.

I hope that helps,

Mat.
Attached Thumbnails
 
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 07:00 AM   #5
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's exactly what I was looking for. Cheers!
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:12 AM   #6
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah crap . . . any chance you can do something similar with Polygons rather than NURBS?

I've got two different projects where I've got polygonal models that I need to remove shaped chunks. But they're already polygons and I'd hate to start over and redo them using NURBS.

So am I out of luck or is there a way I can accomplish what you showed above, but with polygons?
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:13 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

IÕm pretty sure you can.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:17 AM   #8
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heh . . . um . . . any idea how?

I'm not seeing anything similar in the polygons menu (I'm running 8.5) and Maya Help isn't helping at all.

Feeling real silly here. :headbang:

How would you do that with polygons?
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:19 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Make sure youÕre under your Polygons menu, (the thing in the top right) and go to Mesh>Booleans.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:23 AM   #10
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You are saving my life and I feel like such a schmuck that I didn't see it there.
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:29 AM   #11
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You're gonna kill me . . .

So what if I have a number of separate polygons, that I want to apply this boolean > difference to?

For example, a series of say 10 cylinders that you want to trim with another polygon?

I know it only does it with 2 polygons, so is there a way to group the 10 cylinders in such a way that it only considers it one? I've tried "group" and "parent" commands, and those aren't working.

Do I really have to do them each by hand?--one at a time?
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 09:46 AM   #12
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

IÕm kind of confused about what youÕre saying. Just test around and see! ThereÔs always cmd+z (ctrl+z on a PC) if you screw it up! Just remember to save after you do something big.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 10:44 AM   #13
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

The image that I posted was made with polygons (mesh).
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 01:07 PM   #14
bobalie
Registered User
 
bobalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada, British Columbia, Victoria
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you don't want to have to do (as your example stated) 10 things, each by hand, you could always combine the 10, then use the boolean (object + 10 things(now combined) = new object)

If there are a lot of those kind of doorframes, then just duplicate, duplicate and duplicate some more.

If i've misunderstood the problem, or re-stated the obvious, then I am sorry. Hopefully I have been useful even in the slightest!,
Chris
bobalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 01:54 AM   #15
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, all. I know I wasn't very specific or articulate in some of what I was asking.

Everything you guys said has helped me solve the problem. Thanks!
INOX is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.