Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-06-2007, 12:01 AM   #1
freehand
Registered User
 
freehand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Boolean Union Dissapear

ok im following the creating a person tutorial series thing and im on the 3rd video where you have used boolean to put the head and torso together and now you are putting the arm and torso together. but when i try to put the arm on the torso i go to mesh>boolean>union and when i do that it just dissapears... ihave looked at the other responses and none have worked. plz help i want to complete my first person..
freehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 12:55 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Can you post a screenshot of your model in shaded mode with the arm selected.

thanks

Edit: Do a screenshot of all 4 views (front, back, side, top). You know, all four panes showing at once. Just zoom into the intersection in all four views so we can see it a little better. don't need to see the whole model in each view, just a close up of where the two pieces intersect. Just make sure that you have the arm selected (highlighted) or that you are in shaded mode with wireframe on.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!

Last edited by Perfecto : 26-06-2007 at 12:58 AM.
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 03:14 AM   #3
freehand
Registered User
 
freehand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

heres the pic


Shot at 2007-06-28
freehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 06:25 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Edit: Before you do the following, I recommend you save your file as a different name. That way, you can always go back.

Thanks freehand. The arm seems to be well inside the body. Your meshes also seem to look okay visually.
Try these quick tasks to see if they work.

1. Select one of your ams and then goto edit/ungroup. Then do the same for the other arm, and continue until you have done so to all pieces of geometry. This is to make sure that nothing is grouped which has caused union problems for me. (If you're familiar with hypergraph you can ungroup items quicker with it).

If that doesn't work

2. select arm and delete history (edit/delete by type/history). then do the same thing for the body.

If that doesn't work.

3. Try doing a cleanup on your geometry.

If that doesn't work then do it this way which I like to do since it gives you total control. Kurt also mentions this in the tutorial. Delete some faces from your body to make a hole for the arm to fit. Then align the arm to the body as if your going to sew them together. Select both the arm and the body and combine them (combine, not group). Now merge the vertices of your arm to the vertices of the body. It takes longer but it should work for sure.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 07:07 AM   #5
freehand
Registered User
 
freehand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow! thank you sooo much for the help! the very last one worked.
freehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 07:32 AM   #6
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

You're welcome! I'm just passing on the knowledge. It's nice when the booleans work but as you just learned, they can be a real pain in the rear sometimes.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 10:25 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Boolians are a right pain, I never use then unless its right at the end of the project, to cut bits etc, and then I try to match up the geo.

I would reccomend not using them if possible, if you plan your model's geo so that it has a nice flow then theres no no need for them
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.