Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-07-2007, 12:58 PM   #1
Snipes-nl
Registered User
 
Snipes-nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do you model a chord/wire easily?

I was just wondering if there is an easy way to make a wire. Like from a computer to a socket. or any other kind of wire. Is there a way to have a nurbs curve and then have a nurbs circle follow that path and in the make a cylinder as it does. You know what i mean? I used to be able to do it in 3DSMAX but seeing as I stepped over to Maya due to school, I'd like to know how to again thanks in advance
Snipes-nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 01:11 PM   #2
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah under surfaces->extrude.
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 03:44 AM   #3
Snipes-nl
Registered User
 
Snipes-nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that doesnt make it the same diameter all around because the control vertices are all facing the same way. do i have to go and change those manually afterwards? theres an easier way isnt there?
Snipes-nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 07:12 AM   #4
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

eh... yeah.

select first the shape then the path.

go to surface->extrude->option box

reset the options first. then set all radio buttons to the right (tube, at path, component, profile normal)

that should do it. the orientation had something to do with the last setting (profile normal).
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 08:04 AM   #5
Snipes-nl
Registered User
 
Snipes-nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey, sweet, you da man thanx
Snipes-nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.