Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-07-2007, 06:34 PM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default SOUND AND RENDERING Q?

Hey guys,

Right ive been animating for a while now. Now im starting to get technical by adding sound, doing lipsynching etc.

Importing it and using it in maya is not a problem. That i know how. But my question is,

when i batch render, i batch render it (as learned from geniues mckinley) as targa images as opposed to an avi.

If i have a complicated scene with sound, how to i get the final result?? As it renders as images and taken into videomac, i want to know how to 'render sound with it'

any ideas?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 537
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

hi
to my knowledge you dont render sound, you add sound to a clip later in special video editing software like adobe premier
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 09:55 PM   #3
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i know u dont render it out i was just wondering if it was put together in maya.


So i have to get adobe premier right?
Is it easy to use?

Thanks
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 11:22 PM   #4
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 537
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mr pix.
i know u dont render it out i was just wondering if it was put together in maya.


So i have to get adobe premier right?
Is it easy to use?

Thanks
hi
no it's not put together in maya, you dont have to necerally use adobe premier, any video editing software should work, if your new to this editing stuff i suggest you use "windows movie maker" it's FREE and very easy to use
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 11:35 PM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

very much appreciated


thank you


one last thing. What software (advanced or basic would you recommend for synching your sound with your final animation?

And any tutorial links for it?

Thanx again Jali. great help my friend. Cant wait to dip my toes into a bit of sound editing. My animations are very dull without it!
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2007, 12:12 AM   #6
oldhippie_tom
Subscriber
 
oldhippie_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Mr Pix. I would use Adobe After Effects. I always found it best. And many tutorials on its use on the web. But as was mentioned you don't need After Efftects just to put sound and picture together.
__________________
Challenge me and I will try. Because If I should fail, failure also has a prize (Knowledge).
oldhippie_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2007, 12:12 AM   #7
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 537
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mr pix.
very much appreciated


thank you


one last thing. What software (advanced or basic would you recommend for synching your sound with your final animation?

And any tutorial links for it?

Thanx again Jali. great help my friend. Cant wait to dip my toes into a bit of sound editing. My animations are very dull without it!
hi

i personally would recommend windows movie maker, like i said earlier it's very easy to use and has a lot of cool things you cando like add effects ect,

here is a link that has some video tutorials

http://uk.youtube.com/results?search...&search=Search

all the best jali
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2007, 05:53 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Movie Makers ruddy aweful, yes its easy to use but its a pile of... Especially if you've used a "proper" software
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2007, 11:46 PM   #9
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hey gster123

wot would u recommend??
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2007, 12:22 AM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mr pix.
hey gster123

wot would u recommend??
Sony vegas , Video match , Ulead studio
I think those are best
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2007, 12:57 PM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Premier, After effects, Sony Vegas, Avid Express Pro, but ive got to say that you can get some decent softwares when you buy a video camera (like generic stuff that comes with the camera)

In fact it wouldent surprise me at all if theres a great opensource software that you could use

I wouldent go with video mach, as when yuou compare it with editing software its a bit lacking.

If your going to buy a software just for compiling things I would go with after effects, not a dedicated editing software (as its for compositing, which you'll probably do a bit of using maya) but you can edit in it and add sound fx etc etc etc.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.