Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-07-2007, 10:00 AM   #1
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem w Physical Sun & Sky

Hi All,
I have some large scene and it wont render with mental ray..there is only one light source which is from physical sun and sky. The error msg is like this :

// Warning: Could not find an appropriate startup camera: persp. A substitute will be used. //
// 1 //
select -r DomeLight ;
// Error: (Mayatomr.Output) : //
// Error: (Mayatomr) : unexpected internal exception during scene rendering, please report //
// Error: (Mayatomr) : unexpected internal exception during scene cleanup, please report /

Does anybody know why is this happen? I've tried optimizing the scene, deleting history. Even though i deleting the physical sun$ sky..the mental ray still wont render. I m using 8.5 sp1 rite now. Please help...
Andy William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 10:07 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

no Idea, have you tried importing your scene into a fresh maya scene? that sometimes helps. Apart from that you could delete all the MR nodes and start that part of it again.

Sorry I can't help more

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 10:14 AM   #3
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've tried that..i've even reinstall the fresh maya but still no good.. and open up the previous scene where it was succesfully rendered last nite but now it wont render too.. but if i start a new scene and a new primitive object it just fine. Does the n-gon could create a problem for this?
Andy William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 10:21 AM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

maybe, MR doesn't like anything but quads as far as I know. can you post a screen shot of your object?

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 10:33 AM   #5
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actualy i m building a city..so there is alot of objects in the scene. But i manage to batch render it last nite..just this morning i refined some of the building and shader now it ended like this.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Andy William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 07:24 PM   #6
younglion
Registered User
 
younglion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the problem could be some models causing problems, im guessing you gonna have to run the clean up on all your models to see whats wrong with them.
__________________
wip
Kleemann cl65
my concept car
younglion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.