Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-07-2007, 04:21 PM   #1
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Nurbs Modelling - Inserting Isoparms Problem

Hi Everyone,

Really hope you can help me:

Only started learning MAYA a couple of weeks ago and i'm having a problem with Nurbs.

I've started using the Learning MAYA 7 book and i'm currently modelling the robot in Nurbs (Chapter 15). I'm up to creating the chest which started off as a cylinder with no caps.

Next part was to insert isoparms which i did - (twice) - and edited the vertices after the insertion.

But now when i insert another isoparm on the same cylinder, it's not allowing me to move any of the vertices at all.
It's as if it's now locked in it's current position.

Any ideas what the problem might be?...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, it's really ticking me off now. ha-ha...

Cheers,

Add
AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 04:28 PM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Could you post a pic?

Also, what does the SE (Script Editor) say?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 04:41 PM   #3
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You're not gonna believe this, i've just tried it again (exactly the same process - about the 10th time) but this time with the script editor open and it's decided to work again. I'm quite baffled...

I'll post a pic of what it looked like before though.

Thanks for the speedy response, I feel quite embarrassed now. Just hope it continues to work… :S
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by AdamConway : 20-07-2007 at 05:03 PM.
AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 08:37 AM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

What i did when i followed the tutorial from that book, is i rendered out his finished robot in the front and side view(select robot press f so that the distance is the same to prevent scaling issue's and in the renderglobals select the preffered rendercamera).
this way you have some good sourceimages to work from

good luck
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 12:08 PM   #5
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers man, good tip!
I'll try that tonight.

AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 12:58 PM   #6
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just thought I’d post the final robot to show that I’d moved on from the isoparm problem.
Went a bit mad with using some of the new EP Curve/trim & loft techniques I’d learnt, but I needed the practice anyways ha-ha...
Also, I added the head from the ready made template - I'm not going to do anymore work on the robot or use it in a future demo reel, so I figured it's time to move onto the NURBS Texturing chapter of the book.

Looking forward to creating my own designs in future and posting them in the WIP section!

Cheers guys,

Add
:attn:
Attached Thumbnails
 
AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 01:01 PM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It would be nice to see a better render of it. Try making the bottom plane much bigger, and putting a different lamber on it that is a lighter color. Also, a light in the back of him would be good.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 04:14 PM   #8
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Although it's coming along nicely, there are some major issues you need to adress before you go to the texturing part of the book;
-His torso is a bit off compared to the original.
-Arms aren't the way they ought to be
- something strange is going on with his head.
I took the liberty to attache an image approx. at the same angle as your render, i think you'll see my point.

I don't mean to take a piss at you i'ts just to help
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 07:00 PM   #9
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

No worries bud - Appreciate the comments, i wasn't very clear in my last post. I'll be ditching my model and carrying on with the one provided on the CD for the rest of the chapters.

To be honest I was just trying to test out the things I was learning - making tweaks to certain areas to go over parts of the chapter again.
(Like the arm sockets with the extra loft / the shoulder pads or the upper arms adding extra isoparms to see if I had the same issues as earlier in the thread lol).

My main goal at the mo is to just learn the basics and then put the time & precision into my own stuff in future.


Last edited by AdamConway : 22-07-2007 at 07:11 PM.
AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 07:57 PM   #10
AdamConway
Registered User
 
AdamConway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Last post of Mr. Roboto before he’s forgotten about forever. He’s even waving goodbye…

(Jr.Who: I've just very quickly put together a scene - added a point light to the front/above-ish and imported the rotating planets from an earlier chapter which uses a spot light. Also tried to move him around a little, but it was taking a bit too long and I really wanna move on now – take a look anyways).
Cheers for the comments,
Add
Attached Thumbnails
 
AdamConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.