Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-07-2007, 07:57 PM   #1
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default maya tutorials

im going to buy i few tutorials and i was wondering can you build them in maya 5 or is it strictly maya 8 for all
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 09:35 PM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

People still use Maya 5?
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 09:50 PM   #3
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

um well i do, maya 5 unlimited i can do the cartoondog on it i was just wondering if i can do tutorials like ninja warrior and apache on maya 5
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 07:14 AM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

jr.who:

I still use Maya 6 Complete and use version 5 unlimited at work. Its not about the version you use, its what you do with it that counts, so be a bit more forward in your thinking and help this guy or gal out instead of spamming a thread with null comments. Not all of us have access to the latest 'everything'

majeh28:

You'll find there may be odd differences with regards to tutes depending on which version of Maya they were created. As with everything there'll always be a work around to get to the end result, and dont forget the forum is always open if you have a problem.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 01:23 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jay

I still use Maya 6 Complete and use version 5 unlimited at work. Its not about the version you use, its what you do with it that counts
So so true, reminds me of a lot of amature bands I see, "all the gear no idea", in fact a lot of the extras end up being a crutch (hehe, look at me with Zbrush for organics!! LOL) In fact, to me, the skill comes from getting great results from a limited resource.

As for the Question, the best thing to do is look in the help file in the search menu when you get stuck, it will (or should) be able to find what you want to to if the menu/name ofthe tool has changed.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 04:02 PM   #6
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanx everyone for your post
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 04:48 PM   #7
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

um quick question in maya 5 you can only model and texture so much before it starts to run slow is that my comp or is it maya 5
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 05:07 PM   #8
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry should elaborate i can model and texture fine just cant add paint effects as background much if i do animation becomes slow
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 05:25 PM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by majeh28
sorry should elaborate i can model and texture fine just cant add paint effects as background much if i do animation becomes slow
Well, what are your tech specs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 05:33 PM   #10
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1.5 gb of ram
32 bit operating system
AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000 + 2.17ghz
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 06:15 PM   #11
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What’s your video card, and do you have a 64-bit processor?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 06:40 PM   #12
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ATI READON 9600
and my proccesor is the AMD Athlon so not sure i know my operating sytem but cant find were it says processor bit
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 10:53 PM   #13
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

The more you do in any software the slower it will get. With regards to paint fx, if you are watching the animation in open gl it will run slow, so just select the strokes and turn down the display percentage...

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 11:10 PM   #14
majeh28
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for all your reply's jay and Jr. Who
@jay thanks for the tip
majeh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorials you'd like to see David Simply Maya Tutorials 131 09-08-2016 04:39 AM
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.