Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-07-2007, 03:25 PM   #1
Monkey Wrench
Registered User
 
Monkey Wrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Boolean Difference not working

Hi, everyone I'm working on a ship that i'm building and i've run into a problem. I am trying to make windows in the sides of the ship using multiple cubes with boolean difference. I had done this earlier to see how it would look and it worked fine, since then i have added stuff to the ship and was ready to the put windows in, but when I click to do boolean difference, my ship and the cube I selected disappeared and I got an error message in my script. What should i do?

Before


After


Script editor
Monkey Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 06:45 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Unfortunately, booleans are not always the most stable or reliable of functions. I've yet to find a work-around or anyone who truly understands *why* booleans work some times and not other times.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:32 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had this problem one time, and I performed a Mesh>Cleanup and it helped. Test around with the different settings to see which ones work, and don’t screw up your geometry.
  Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 06:09 PM   #4
Monkey Wrench
Registered User
 
Monkey Wrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm. well I got it to work but I had to subdivide my ship, for some reason I could only do boolean difference Once before it stopped working again so I just combined all the cubes together and that worked. Thnk you for your help guys, Ill keep that in mind next time I have a problem like this!
Monkey Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.