Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-12-2002, 08:01 AM   #1
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Hardware Rendering to Adobe Premiere

Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is the right category for this question...i just did a hardware render on dynamics in Alpha Channel Red Source and software render on the non dynamics...Now, my question is if i'm putting both of the rendered in adobe premiere how do I mask to have the final combination movie effect? I'm new to Premiere. Thank you...
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 08:15 AM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You should be able to use "Layer modes" like in photoshop.

Like, screen, multiply, add, etc.

I use After Effects for compositing, and Premier for editing, but I believe that premier has this function as well.

Check the Premier docs for "Layer modes", and/or "Compositing".

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 07:03 PM   #3
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Hello again Racecgi,

You saved me once from the other post...now let's see if you can help me on this one . You're right about the layers on the premiere...but i don't know how to mask it, is it used by transperancy and if it is what do i choose, let me attach the picture so you can see on premiere...
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2002, 04:01 PM   #4
DukerX
Subscriber
 
DukerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My experience with Premiere regarded to comositting is somewhat limited, but what I found out was, that using the ALPHA channel worked out for stills, but not animations, even if the alpha source was animated, it took just hte first frame.

My solution to this, was switching to Adobe AfterFX.
__________________
-DX-
DukerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2002, 12:55 AM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

DukerX is right, but just for kicks, try Image Matte first, then try White Alpha Matte.

If that doesn't work, then I believe you can download the demo of After Effects, and it will work for you just fine

Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2002, 08:10 PM   #6
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, i'll try the both of the methods if not i'll download the after effects =)

Thank You all
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2002, 02:34 PM   #7
Speedy
Registered User
 
Speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I definetly have to agree, I use both programs everyday, and You should really use aftereffects for animated masks and stuff, Premieere doesn't give you the ability to do so...
Brian
Speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2002, 08:21 PM   #8
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok....thank you brian...
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2002, 08:25 PM   #9
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

sorry, my post was alittle late, didn't read all of the replies.
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.