Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-08-2007, 05:32 PM   #1
jo-shadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy mouse navigation mapping

Since I am on a mac laptop and only have one mouse key, I want to reassign the Track tool hot key to being: Control + Alt + LMB

However, mouse buttons are not available as options from the key drop down menu in the hotkey editor, and I only get errors when I try typing "LMB" or "Left_Mouse_Button"

I figure there has to be a way of assigning keystrokes with mouse buttons, since the other navigation commands use different mouse buttons as well.

Basically my question is, is it possible to create hotkeys that use the mouse button(s) and if so, how do you do it.


And before I get lectured on simply using an external mouse, I'm on the move a lot, and so having a keystroke would be much less of a hassle than trying to use a mouse in the subway or bus.

Also, I'd appreciate it if we could keep 'get a windows so you have more buttons' comments to a minimum as well. I doubt that the mac version of maya has different keystroke capabilities as the windows version.


Not like it makes much of a difference, but I'm using Maya 8.5 on a Mac book pro running Mac OS 10.4.10
jo-shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 05:38 PM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

uder system requirement for maya on Mac it says u need a 3 button mouse simple as.
no way arround it
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 05:43 PM   #3
jo-shadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by pbman
uder system requirement for maya on Mac it says u need a 3 button mouse simple as.
no way arround it
I wouldn't say 'no way around it'. simply assigning a normal key other than the mouse buttons works perfectly well.

let's just assume I never mentioned the fact that I only have one mouse button, and let's assume I want to add the mouse to any other arbitrary command. if it's not possible, then how do the default commands do it?

it's always claimed that maya is so easy to adapt to every person's workflow and needs. if it's so 'adaptable' something as simple as a mouse hot key should be a piece of cake...
jo-shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:58 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here’s your solution:

http://www.apple.com/mightymouse/

I have one, and I love it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:01 PM   #5
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i hate that damn thing. get a "real" one.

mighty mouse is a pain in the you know what.

my 50cent
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:13 PM   #6
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I have mouse for ... hmm 2 $ : ))))
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:06 PM   #7
jo-shadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Here’s your solution:

http://www.apple.com/mightymouse/

I have one, and I love it.
did you read my original post??

"And before I get lectured on simply using an external mouse, I'm on the move a lot, and so having a keystroke would be much less of a hassle than trying to use a mouse in the subway or bus."

in case that was not clear enough, let me say it again:
I travel, and have no room for an external mouse most of the time.
jo-shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 04:51 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

In that case then use alt left mouse key, alt right mouse key, alt both keys to invoke middle mouse button, assuming that the mac has 2 mouse buttons in the built in mouse and can be configured???

Oh and its a right bugger to use (or it is on my laptop), so I would reccommend getting a 3 button mouse regardless, i'm on the emove quite a lot and find the space
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:02 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mac laptops are only single click.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:23 AM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Mac laptops are only single click.
Shakes head, what a fopar by me, and by the designers...
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:26 AM   #11
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Shakes head, what a fopar by me, and by the designers...
My dad’s a graphic designer (that’s why I grew up with Macs), and he hates using double click mouses.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:44 AM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I know graphic designers that dont like the single button mouse, as they cant access shortcuts.

I'm on about buttons, when I used one I didnt like it took away a lot of short cuts, I can see why they did it, makes it so you dont have to bother with right and left set ups, also makes a computer simpler to use for a beginner, although taking out quite a bit of functionality. Plus if they provide support for a multi button mouse in the OS (think its does) why not porvide it on the macbooks??

Really seems a fopar as its cutting useability, especially in a laptop, if you didnt want it to have 2 buttons then set both of them to be left click function??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle

Last edited by gster123 : 08-08-2007 at 08:47 AM.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 09:28 AM   #13
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, he does right click (by holding the ctrl button and left clicking), but he just hates double click mouses. I guess that he hates them so much, because he’s so used to single click mouses.

I, myself, couldn’t live without my mighty mouse. Sure, sometimes the scroll ball will get some dirt in it, but nothing too much to cry about.
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.