Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-09-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
richardmartin1961
Registered User
 
richardmartin1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Texture mapping issue

Hi everyone.

Been bashing my head against the wall with this problem in maya 7. For some reason, as soon as you apply a planer map on an object, it changes the appearence of the texture to a black and white chequer board, and even renders out like that. (happens with all types of maps, and on all axis). Even when you open the UV texture editor it just shows a chequer board.

Any thoughts? (Ive attached a screen shot)

Many thanks

Richard
Attached Thumbnails
 
richardmartin1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 06:40 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

i had this problem after I install the pelting tools for maya - it went away after removing them
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:05 PM   #3
richardmartin1961
Registered User
 
richardmartin1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the reply.

Thats one of the weird things, I havent installed any type of plugin recently. It just started doing it about a week ago.
richardmartin1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:17 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Make sure "Assign Shaders to Each Projection" is turned off.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:18 PM   #5
richardmartin1961
Registered User
 
richardmartin1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

absolute genius.

You have no idea how much that has helped! I owe you, cheers.

richardmartin1961 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.