Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-12-2002, 01:09 AM   #1
philybeeee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question vertex snapping

alright people im trying to create a new curve over an old one, i know that i could just duplicate it. but im trying to follow a tutorial where i need to vertex snap over the existing one so it becomes the same.
philybeeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2002, 02:14 PM   #2
cmitch
Registered User
 
cmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just move to the component tool, select the old curve and take your create cv tool, hit 'v' and then it should snap to the old curve points... and there u have your new curve.
cmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2002, 02:54 PM   #3
philybeeee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive tryed to do this but cannot see my old curve points when i start to use the curve tool
philybeeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2002, 03:31 PM   #4
cmitch
Registered User
 
cmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

then build a curve with the same number of points like the original curve, select both and snap now in the compnonent mode the new cuve points to the old.
cmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2002, 09:15 PM   #5
philybeeee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yer that works but i have to build the new curve stright on top of the other one without building it then moving it.
philybeeee is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.