Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-09-2007, 04:30 PM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hardsurface smoothing.

Here's a problem I'm having with hard surfaces.

In picture 1, I have a polygon thats unsmoothed, and in picture 2 I have it subdivided. The problem I'm having here is when I subdivide, I lose the octagon shape. I've tried adding edges, but when I try adding edges all the way through, it adds an indention in my model which I don't want. I tried adding edges at just the corner, then deleting the center so it would form 4 sides, but when I do, picture number 4 is the result. So....I'm not sure how to get around this. Any suggestions would be nice right now. I'm having

As for the top part where the cavity is, I'm trying to sharpen that area to a nice edge also, but it's hard to keep it straight because it's slanted. I tried changing my move tool to object, so that the arrows would follow according to the angle of the plane, but it stayed the same. So' I'm a bit confused. I've spent a while trying to play around with it but it isn't helping much.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 07:32 PM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Hi there!

From looking at your geometry, I believe your difficulty is the triangle in the corner. If you used the bevel tool for your bevels, then instead of just beveling the edges and the crease, select the line on the top surface too. That way instead of having a triangle in the corner, it will be a 4 sided poly. That should take care of your problem and prevent the corners from exploding like that.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 07:38 PM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I decided to do an example to show you what I mean. Notice the edges on the left compared to the edges on the right and the results of each after subdividing.

I hope this helps you out some
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2007, 02:25 AM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Anhslaught


This is subdivison surface right? Not actual poly smoothing.

Watch those tris on a subd it will make life hell if you put those in and convert to a subd. The irony being that subds will algorythmically smooths the geometry into what it 'sees' and then trys to make it a quad hence the strange patches that appear. this also applies when converting to a subd from an N-Sided faced poly. When converting to a final poly model too from Subds any tris are converted to quads also.

So my advice would be to stick with quads in those types of areas, the mesh will be cleaner to when it comes to uving the model.

Hope this helps
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:38 PM   #5
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys for the response.

I have a question, is there a tool that will allow you to move along the surface without deforming it too much?

Like for example, if I wanted to move on a flat but its at a wierd angle, is ther away I can make my move tool move along tha angle?

Or another example, on a sloped surface, I want my move tool to just move along the slope, how would I do that?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:41 PM   #6
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jay
Anhslaught


This is subdivison surface right? Not actual poly smoothing.

Watch those tris on a subd it will make life hell if you put those in and convert to a subd. The irony being that subds will algorythmically smooths the geometry into what it 'sees' and then trys to make it a quad hence the strange patches that appear. this also applies when converting to a subd from an N-Sided faced poly. When converting to a final poly model too from Subds any tris are converted to quads also.

So my advice would be to stick with quads in those types of areas, the mesh will be cleaner to when it comes to uving the model.

Hope this helps
Jay
Yup, they're subdivisions. I have another question too I just thought of just now. I noticed the smoothing for subdivisions and polygon smoothe are quite different. With sudvisions, everything smoothes out perfectly and round, but for smoothing, the edges(the ends?) look all wonky and pokes out sharp corners or edges.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:43 PM   #7
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

If you double click on the move tool you can change it's move axis, the option that will most likely give you what you want is Normal, the axis will change to the normals of the face.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:07 PM   #8
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
If you double click on the move tool you can change it's move axis, the option that will most likely give you what you want is Normal, the axis will change to the normals of the face.
awesome, that did the trick. thanks
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.