Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-10-2007, 11:07 AM   #1
Falco Fal Frida
Subscriber
 
Falco Fal Frida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Getting Maya or Not

hey there,
Can u guys tell me if the maya PLE i am currently usng allows me to create my own short film(not to be commercialised). Or do I have to get the purchase one. Also, can anyone advise me about the Maya Unlimited. Coz I am using a product call Zbrush as well for modelling,so I am nt sure if Maya Unlimited is cost effective for me as I am looking to do Visual effects as well
Thanks
Falco Fal Frida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 02:21 PM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I’m pretty sure the PLE can batch render. Can you be more specific on what you want to know about Maya Unlimited?

Which PLE version do you have?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:22 PM   #3
Falco Fal Frida
Subscriber
 
Falco Fal Frida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the Maya 8.5 PLE i downloaded from autodesk website, Nt sure if this PLE can allow me to do a short film or help me in building up my portfolio. Also, I ll be purchasing a software called Z brush, and am nt sure if the PLE can co exist with the Z brush full version
Falco Fal Frida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:36 PM   #4
Falco Fal Frida
Subscriber
 
Falco Fal Frida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it possible for me to use the Maya Complete edition instead if I would want to create animation like seen in Lord of the Rings or StarWars. Can I create those animation without using Maya unlimted fur hair cloth and flud tools as to be cost effective in my projects?
Falco Fal Frida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:20 PM   #5
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by Falco Fal Frida
Is it possible for me to use the Maya Complete edition instead if I would want to create animation like seen in Lord of the Rings or StarWars. Can I create those animation without using Maya unlimted fur hair cloth and flud tools as to be cost effective in my projects?
Here, this might help you out:

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...threadid=10281
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 08:51 PM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

create animation like seen in Lord of the Rings or StarWars.

you'll need more than maya for that.., a team of 100 people would help.., a couple of super computers and a few more apps like After Effects, motion bulider, photoshop, Vue, boujou, .., and a few years of practise.., at least 10 might do it. but I admire your ambition.., aim high i say

oh, yes, I think maya might be just the ticket for you.., if PLE does batch render you will have a huge water mark acrosss the animation decaring it; well last I looked it was ALIAS but now.., who knows (bit of a pun).

you do realise you will need a compositor (after effects) and an editing suite like premier, avid or final cut?? maya by itself will not be enough to make any movie.., or anything with more then one take or cut.

good luck.., you have a steep learning curve ahead and it should be great fun.

sounds like it would be worth trying to get a work placement in an animation studio.., see if you can get your foot in the goor and work or free cleaning up or something.., they wont want to teach you in the beginning because they are so busy.., but think anout it and you might work something out.., thats your quickest way to making 'star wars.'

hope i didnt deter you, it is not as complcated as I make it sound.., but you should be aware of this.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.