Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-10-2007, 01:48 AM   #1
SteveN_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Another Maya noob (image plane size help)

Hello Im new to maya, love it, was using lightwave before but anyway heres my problem.
My problem conserns importing image planes. I would import the top and side without problems but the front view imported much larger. I found that the view>import would import the image to the same size as the viewport , thus making the front view larger because the front view is a square and the side and top are rectangles - hope you all know what I mean.

So my question is this, how can I import the images to their actual/default size. All my images are properly scaled my maya always imports the front image larger no matter what.

Iv attached a pic that hopefully explains what I mean a bit better.

cheers
steve
Attached Thumbnails
 
SteveN_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 02:35 AM   #2
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

heres a couple tuts that may help

http://www.the-blueprints.com/index.php?tutorials/maya/

(download)
http://www.hinst.net/~phalcon/mckinl...mageplanes.rar

__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 03:57 AM   #3
SteveN_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi this is helpful but I had already started modeling and was modeling the back, switching the front plain image for the back one. But this will be useful for the next model I make. Is there anyway to import image without maya resizing them.
Cheers
steve
SteveN_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 05:33 AM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Maya resizes the images in a ratio over resolution kind of way. Its best to resize your images to a resonable size in PS first at 72dpi. Make sure that the files all match up on their appropriate planes. Use the PS layers forthis so you can adjust opacity to see the sizes match up


Once you load an image plane you can also manaully adjust the settings in the image plane attributes, height and width settings. Also you can move them in X, Y or Z. Its no big deal, my 10 year old daughter can do it.:bandit:

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 06:13 AM   #5
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I've used import image plane a few times but since I haven't done much experimenting with that I just create a poly plane to match the pictures resolution. For example, if a picture has a 640x480 resolution then I'll create a poly plane that is either 6.4 x 4.8 or one that is 64 x 48, or even 32 x 24 (anything with the same ratio) Then, after I attach the picture, I do a planner map to make sure it's not stretched or anything. Works really great for me. I put each poly plane on a different layer so I can turn them on and off individually.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 06:18 AM   #6
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Oh yea, if I want the image planes to match real world sizes, then after I create all my image planes, I group them all together. If the pictures are of a person that is 5 feet 11 inches tall, then I'll create a cube that is 5'11" tall and then I'll use the scale tool to enlarge my image planes (grouped) according to the cube.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.