Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-10-2007, 04:25 PM   #1
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya and ZBrush displacement maps

I've been making a simple displacement map in ZBrush for a model I started in maya, but when I port it over, the object looks rather "fat" I've taken the alpha multiplier into account (multiply/divide note from the file to the displacement map), but I think my problem stems from the alpha map base colour being 50% grey. doesn't maya do displacement from black? This would explain why everything is getting displaced, even the stuff that shouldn't be.

can I adjust the maya displacement map so that it works from 50% grey rather than black (so I can have some negative displacement too?) or have I got to somehow get the base colour for the displacement map from zbrush to be black?
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 04:40 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hi there edward, yes you have to do that with it, off the top of my head its the alpha gain that you have to set to -0.5, rarther than go into a legnthy explanation of the settings and stuff theres quite a few videos on you tube about rendering displacment maps, best off doing a search for them.

Oh and on Pixologics site theres also tutorials there too using the Displacment exproter and then setting in maya etc etc

Hope it helps
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 04:48 PM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Steve ya bugger ya beat me too it. LOL

Edward: this is the easiest and effective way to do it.

the other settings would be to make sure that make sure feature displacement for the mesh is OFF in the Attribute Editor, make sure you have a subdivison approximation node for the mesh, then in the AE for it make sure the subdivision surface quality is set to spatial and the settings for the min is 3.

that should cover it.....


happy rendering............

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 04:52 PM   #4
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi! First of all what kind of dispalcement map do you have? It's made with zbrush displacement native maps, or is done with the alpha displacement exporter? I made displ maps using the ADE. Why? Well zbrush displacement maps have no scale imbeded so to speak.that means that you back in maya have to find for yourself an alpha value that is apropiate.With ADE you know that the alpha value should be 2.2 in maya, if you checked the adaptive option in ADE (i don't have time to explain all of that).To balance the 50% gray, you have to set your alpha offset to -50% of your alpha gain value, through an expression : for ex. file1.alphaOffset = -(file1.alphaGain/2);.So just right click on your alpha offset field and choose expressions and write like above.Wish you luck.If you have 10$ you can get from gnomonology website a wonderfull tut by scott spencer.(if you have luck with an torrent account.....)
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 11:44 PM   #5
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. Just for anyone else looking at this, it's alpha offset that needs adjusting, not alpha gain (the latter is a multiplicative factor)

The map I have is just a basic one made using the displacement thing in the tools menu... I'm new to zbrush, so I can't say more than that.

anyway, here's the result of my work the treetrunk was formerly very smooth, but now has nice displacement lumps and detail. The leaves still need work, I have some odd corners that shouldn't be there if anyone has any iedea where they come from?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 11:58 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hehe it was a guess off the top of my head.

It might be the edges of the map, Z allows you to extend the border if you use the multi displacement exporter
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 12:08 AM   #7
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no no, those corners are from maya. They are just polygon spheres that I stretched. I have smoothed the normals, but to no avail. Maybe it will be a bit less obvious when I texture the leaves.
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 12:31 AM   #8
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Here's a link to a very useful videotutorial on the displacement maps from z brush to maya;

http://www.edwin3design.com/root/news.htm

good luck


nice tree btw
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 11:56 AM   #9
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi! I forgot to mention that you have to use a surface aproximation, usualy for zbr meshes -> subdiv aprox of type - parametric and try from 2-3 to whatever is apropiate for you depending on you hardware and the maps LOD. Good luck!
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 09:50 AM   #10
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for all the help you've given, it's looking quite nice now. I mentioned an odd problem in another thread (I meant to put it in here) but I'm using mental ray now (as I had intended all along ultimately) and that clears the messy shapes up, no idea why.
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.