Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-10-2007, 12:25 AM   #1
SJCarlson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change shading on a single object?

Is there a way to make one object show as wireframe and everything else as smooth shading?

Thanks!
SJCarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2007, 01:11 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Hi, i don't really know what you want to use this for so this might not help, but yes it can be done although it can't be toggled and is a bit awkward to switch between . Basically what you have to do is select the object you want to be wireframe then hit ctrl + A to bring up the Attribute editor and on the shape tab scroll down to Drawing Overrides and check on Enable Overides,then finally turn off shading and that object will be wire frame and still workable but it will still be shaded if you render .
To get back to being shaded simply follow the process again and check shading on.

If you wanted to render with one object as wireframe then i'm afraid you would have to render out two seperate renders ,one with the Software Renderer or Mental Ray for you shaded objects and the other with Vector Renderer for your wireframe object and then composition them together.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 30-10-2007 at 01:16 AM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2007, 07:03 AM   #3
SJCarlson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

excellent...Thank you for your help!
SJCarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
How to change thread picture daverave Members Lounge 5 01-12-2010 06:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.