Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-11-2007, 11:18 AM   #1
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Problems

Hello everyone, I'm new to SM as well to Maya 2008. Iim a Mac user so I have OSX.
I've been using the Official Maya Tutorial since yesterday (started yesterday) and I got stuck here.
It tells me to duplicate special an object, which I do, and it also says that the Duplicate Special Options Window appears, which I think isn't true.
(To get a better idea of what I'm talking about, here is the tutorial link: http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/file...ngstarted1.pdf , and I'm on page 61)
The Translate, Rotate, and Scale I can do, but the Geometry Type: Copy and the Group Under: Parent I can't do because I can't see those anywhere.

Can anyone help me out please? I can't find the Geometry Type and the Group Under maybe because the Duplicate Special Options Window doesn't appear!

Please help!

Last edited by DavidS7 : 04-11-2007 at 07:54 PM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 11:32 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Click that little box next to "Duplicate Special". It's called the option box.

BTW, what version of OS X are you using?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 11:40 AM   #3
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot bro, oh and I'm still on Tiger :headbang:.
I'm planning to get Lepoard very soon
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 11:58 AM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you ever got time, here's something I wrote up:
http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...threadid=27984

Welcome to the SM forum.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 08:00 PM   #5
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got another problem now, in the same tutorial but in page 93 (Tutorial) tells me to do this:
3 From the Status Line, select the Rendering menu set using the menu
selector.
The main menu changes to display the menu set for Rendering.
4 From the main menu, select Lighting/Shading > Assign New Material > Blinn.

I thought I did everything well, I changed the Blinn's color but the temple kept being grey, why is this?
Maybe I didn't selected something correctly.
I don't really know about the "select Lighting/Shading". Where can I select it?
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 03:01 AM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by DavidS7
I got another problem now, in the same tutorial but in page 93 (Tutorial) tells me to do this:
3 From the Status Line, select the Rendering menu set using the menu
selector.
The main menu changes to display the menu set for Rendering.
4 From the main menu, select Lighting/Shading > Assign New Material > Blinn.

I thought I did everything well, I changed the Blinn's color but the temple kept being grey, why is this?
Maybe I didn't selected something correctly.
I don't really know about the "select Lighting/Shading". Where can I select it?
Look in the top left of your screen, and click the drop down menu, then you will see a bunch of different things, you will find "Rendering" there. Then look at the menu bar of your screen, and you will find the "Lighting/Shading" menu. An easier way to do this is to go to your rendering tab (in the shelf) and click the material you want. Make sure you have the object that you want the material to be applied to selected.

Check out this screen for some help with the UI:
http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/file...screenshot.jpg

Have you watched the free tuts from this site yet?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:32 AM   #7
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot man.
Have you watched the free tuts from this site yet?
Ohh, I just wanted to finish this one and look at these

Edit: Got stuck again :headbang:. I think I must delete the blinn I made before (attribute) but I can't find a way how!

Last edited by DavidS7 : 05-11-2007 at 04:50 AM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:08 AM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by DavidS7
Thanks a lot man.

Ohh, I just wanted to finish this one and look at these

Edit: Got stuck again :headbang:. I think I must delete the blinn I made before (attribute) but I can't find a way how!
Go to Window> Hypershade.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:20 AM   #9
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Go to Window> Hypershade.
It still didn't worked, anyways.. I won't stick to this, I'll start viewing SM's tutorials!
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:23 AM   #10
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by DavidS7
It still didn't worked, anyways.. I won't stick to this, I'll start viewing SM's tutorials!
Did you check out the (F1) help files for some info on the hypershade?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:34 AM   #11
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Did you check out the (F1) help files for some info on the hypershade?
Done, and it's still not working...
I want to learn Maya to make cars in 3D. I found a tutorial here in SM but I must buy points for it :eeek2:.
Pretty nice idea about the points...
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:49 AM   #12
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by DavidS7
Done, and it's still not working...
What do you mean it's not working? Are you going into the hypershade, selecting the material, then hitting the delete key?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:55 AM   #13
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, I can delete it, although when I make the blinn in the Lighing/Shading it still doesn't get the color that I want.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 06:19 AM   #14
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by DavidS7
Oh yeah, I can delete it, although when I make the blinn in the Lighing/Shading it still doesn't get the color that I want.
And you tried changing the color in it's attributes?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 06:20 AM   #15
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
And you tried changing the color in it's attributes?
Yup, done...
Want me tu upload the Scene?
Perhaps you can find out if I did something wrong earlier.

Last edited by DavidS7 : 05-11-2007 at 06:23 AM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.