Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-11-2007, 12:31 PM   #1
timmons64
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Selecting objects by name?

Hey Yall,
I have a simple question, and I'm hoping it has a simple answer. Is there a way to select multiple objects that have the same name, or even better, a similar name with minor variation. For example, say I am making a scene with a bunch of cars. I want to select the tires. The problem is that they are all grouped to their respective cars and I dont want to have to waste time digging into each group to find the tires. The good thing is that I know I named them all "Tire_01." So is there a way to just type in "Tire_01" and have it select all the objects with that name? Even better for me would be if I could type in "tire" and it would select all the objects with "tire" in the name. For example, "Tire_01", "Tire_LFT", "RT_Tire", etc.

So is there a way to do this? I know I can use the filter thing in the outliner but it still makes me drill down through the groups to find the filtered objects. And I still need to actually select the things too. I would like to just be able to type in for selection. If I thought ahead I would have set up some selection sets, but alas I did not.

Thanks in advance! (sorry if this is unclear as I am tired and been trying to solve major issues in Maya for way too long today, let me know if I can make this clearer in any way)
timmons64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 12:45 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

if you go to the script editor then type in


select -r "object Name" "object Name" ;

Changing the "object name" to what ever you need say pCube1 then execute the command it will select what yove listed.

Hope it helps.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 12:53 PM   #3
timmons64
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Selecting objects by name?

that seems very useful but the only issue seems to be that i have multiple things named the same and it gives me and error saying "more than one object matches name..."

Last edited by timmons64 : 13-11-2007 at 01:13 PM.
timmons64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 01:40 PM   #4
timmons64
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i guess the simple question is, can I select multiple objects with the same word in their name (tire for example), and this includes some that are named the exact same name.
timmons64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 02:09 PM   #5
timmons64
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got an answer from another forum that makes the problem seem silly. Thought I would share. In the top right of the main window of maya you can set different selection things to be typed in, for example, absolute transform, relative transform, etc. If you select "select by name" you can then type *tire* and it will select every object with "tire" in the name. This worked like a charm and I will be using this heavely from now on. Thanks for all your help!
timmons64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 02:16 PM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmm, that sounds interesting. I always thought that if you had objects that are the same, you should name them differently (like tire1, tire2, etc.).

Thanks for the tip.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 02:20 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I would have suggested that but I thought it only selected actual names.

I thought that you couldent name things the same??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 02:22 PM   #8
timmons64
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess that you should always name things different but my issue was that I duplicated groups and all the children retained the same names in every duplicate group. So I'm not sure what the solution to that is but the method above worked amazing and I will certainly be using it a lot.
timmons64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2007, 01:10 AM   #9
jack43d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: India
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dude,

Thats really very simple as u told.

just go to select by name on status line and just type ur object name first and then type * then hit enter. it will work.

For example:

if you have 10 object which has same name like Car_01, Car_02, Car_03......so

then just type in select by name field "Car*" and hit enter your all car object will select after that.

Regards,
Jatin Soni
jack43d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.