Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-11-2007, 03:32 AM   #1
ronviers
Registered User
 
ronviers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 'to edge loop' --- not selecting edges

Hi,
I made a polygonal object by creating a polygon cube. I extruded, duplicated, rotated, combined and merged edges to get the pictured polygon object. For the next step I was supposed to select an edge loop and bevel it. The problem was that my edge loop did not look like it was supposed to – it did not contain the same number of edges as the one pictured in the tutorial. So after playing around with it I found that some of the vertices did not behave properly. You can see in the first picture that after moving the vertex another vertex was left behind that should not be there. So I thought this would be a good time to clean my ngons as was mentioned in a previous thread. Notice in the second image that after cleaning the object, with the settings shown in the image, the vertex started to behave properly. In fact I checked all the vertices and they all behave as expected. Now the problem is that I need to bevel the edge loop shown in the third image but when I use the 'edge loop utilities>to edge loop' I get the loop shown in the fourth image. If I manually select the edges Maya returns an error 'Encountered a non-manifold vertex' Cannot Bevel'. So what is wrong with this polygonal object? Why doesn't the 'to edge loop' select the correct edges and why won't the edges bevel?

Thanks for taking a look,
Ron
Attached Thumbnails
 
ronviers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 03:33 AM   #2
ronviers
Registered User
 
ronviers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

after cleanup...
Attached Thumbnails
 
ronviers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 03:36 AM   #3
ronviers
Registered User
 
ronviers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

correct edge loop
Attached Thumbnails
 
ronviers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 03:37 AM   #4
ronviers
Registered User
 
ronviers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

actual edge loop
Attached Thumbnails
 
ronviers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 03:55 AM   #5
ronviers
Registered User
 
ronviers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Never mind – got it figured out!!!:attn: :lmao:

I'm such a space cadet - maybe i'm not cut out for modeling.
ronviers is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.