Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2007, 07:38 AM   #1
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default Maya 2008 Render layers

Hey All

Well its my turn for the big ask...the old pro needs some help.

Ive just purchased Maya 2008 and all is well but I have some irritation with render layers. Not sure if its a bug on my part or Im overlooking something thats just blatantly obvious.

Ive just updated from Version 6 where the layering contains everything as you would render it, again without using passes.

All I want to do is render separate objects on separate layers that include all my shadows, spec and reflect etc without rendering passes, which is a bit on the time consuming side for me.

the prob I have atm is that the master layer can render the scene with shads etc, but the minute I use a separate layer for each object, shadows cast from one object to the other (in the master layer) are no longer present.

Is it me or is it Maya..?

Many thanks if you can answer this

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 09:22 AM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

You need to override the rendering flags.
add all shadow casting objects and lights into your render layer and click the flag on the layer.

Here you can tell maya to override the render flags.

So for example to get selected objects to render but to still receive casted shadows from objects you dont want to be rendered do the following:

-Make sure ALL the objects shadow casting and ones you want rendered are in the layer as well as the lights obviously.


-click the flag on the render layer and make sure override is on for primarily visibility, at default this will make everything invisible. Then its just a case of going to the shape nodes of the objects you want visible and going to their render flags, right click on their primarily visibility and clicking unlock attribute and turning their visibility back on.

Now when you render you will have only selected objects visible but still have shadow casting objects casting their shadows.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 10:11 AM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

LauriePriest

Many thanks, you're a life saver. Now I can get on with work again.

If you fancy a drink in London at some point send me a pm, I bloody owe you one.


I cant believe they made this as a work flow in Maya. Why fix what wasnt broken. Its just too long winded compared to before. Create your layer with object in and render with light components done for you, if you want passes just select render layer passes - easy!


Many thanks again
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 01:17 PM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

No problem dude, I may take you up on a winter pub visit!
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2008, 03:53 AM   #5
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks, this thread was pretty helpful to me as well! Unfortunately, you'll have to sail to NYC to get that pint! :-)
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.