Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2007, 12:48 PM   #1
xhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Make Hole Tool Help

I've been researching this for some time now and I just can't work out how to do it.

I need to cut a roundish shape from another the only way I can think to do it is through the make hole tool but its deleting the wrong bit!

To put it in context I'm making a rabbit hutch specifically the divider.

http://www.simply-summerhouses.co.uk...h_lid_shdw.JPG

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I also need to know how to make a wire mesh for the front of the hutch! :S
xhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 01:32 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Make an arch shaped piece of geometry put it on the hutch geometry where you want the hole and use the boolean tool, and select intersection.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 03:28 PM   #3
xhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That does the opposite of what I want :S

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/6296/hutchck1.jpg
xhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 04:27 PM   #4
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Well, select the object you want to keep first then the object you want to make the intersection with. Then try the Booleans again.

One thing to note, is that the Maya Boolean feature can be very buggy, especialy in the earlier versions.

Also, instead of using intersection, you should use Difference.

Hope this helps.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2007, 05:13 PM   #5
xhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How come it works now! ARG I'd tried that method earlier as well!

Thank you so much for your help <3
xhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 06:47 PM   #6
wokendreams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, about the mesh. First us cv curve tool to mark out the pattern then on each curve (line in this case) place a nurbs cicrle around it at the start. Then select them both and hit extrude. This will create a round "wire." Also there will be inputs for the new geometry allowing you to edit how it is made for example how many division it should have.
wokendreams is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.