Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-11-2007, 04:27 PM   #1
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Roland JV-1080 Synth

I took a break from my Yamaha synth and started to model another synth I have (and also not use anymore) it's a 19" rack model.

It looks like this:


And here's what I've got so far:
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 04:31 PM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Looking good so far, not much yo go on at the mo...

except you seem to have 4 too many rivets on top. Unless i'm just not seeing them in the ref picture you supplied.

Nice work
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 05:09 PM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You got enough W.I.P.'s yet? :p
  Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 05:40 PM   #4
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Nice! can't wait till it's all put together with your keyboard. Are you trying to make a Studio Scene? Where are the Technics turntables man!? and the Mixer? lol
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 08:30 PM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

DJBlazer just like everything else you make I'll be watching this one. I just love how your renders come out, I really need to start using maxwell more often.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 02:05 AM   #6
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mayaniac: I actually have all those rivets on my machinery.

djknucklez1: hehe.. I actually modeled my simple Behringer mixer in Max a few years ago. Maybe I should dig it up and give it a spin in Maya and Maxwell aswell..

Jr.Who: haha... yeah, lots of stuff going on, but at least I finish most of them...

Thanks Camel
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 03:32 PM   #7
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

More progress: I made all the holes in the front for the buttons, was a real pain in the a-hole to get the measurements correctly. I had the synth and a ruler in my lap while modeling.
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 03:34 PM   #8
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And a close-up
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 04:11 PM   #9
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dig your inorganics, man
__________________
www.funkybunnies3d.com
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 01:50 AM   #10
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

It looks good, very clean. Could we see a wireframe and a polycount please?

cheers,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 06:02 AM   #11
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi DJbLAZER, you ofen give us surprise it's so nice clear. Maxwell render work? I using maxwell lately but always fumbled, can you show me your scene graphic. Thanks.

keep up and my rather bad English.

lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 06:37 AM   #12
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Gubar, sure I'll post a wire later today.

lealar: I don't understand what you mean with "scene graphic" exactly...? What do you want to see? Scene setup? The model and lights?
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 07:12 AM   #13
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hah...
The scene lights better, and light from where and angle.In maxwell how to make environment? How to make material like your Donkey Kong Arcade?

I made a reading lamp I don't how to use maxwell render scene better, and I will upload my reading lamp later can you give me some directions?

en... so much more Thanks!

Last edited by lealar : 28-11-2007 at 07:28 AM.
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 07:54 AM   #14
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well it's kind of hard to answer if you don't have more concrete questions... anyway I always use the standard grey sky dome. I have 2-4 emitters, usually white and maybe one yellow.

Exactly what material in the arcade do you mean? If you wanna learn about materials I recommend going to http://mxmgallery.maxwellrender.com/ and download some materials to see how they are made.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 08:15 AM   #15
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's a wire. Nothing complicated, just tedious work.
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.