Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-11-2007, 07:17 AM   #1
aardvark2071
Registered User
 
aardvark2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Texturing with Maya & Poser

Hello.

I'm not exactly a noob, but I am not professional neither. Anyway here's what I got:

I've been working on this project for quite sometime. Its mostly architectural, but we have recently added figures to the scene. I don't have much experience creating characters in Maya yet, so we have imported them from Poser 7 with the BodyStudio plug-in for Maya.

When the figures (or props, or anything from Poser) is imported it creates this HUGE graph network, that seems way more complex than necessary (i.e. a lot of multiply, divide, placement, etc nodes)

I need an easier way to texture my scene that will not cause Maya to crash when rendering. I keep hearing about BOT textures, and I know a little bit about UV texturing as well. What can I do to optimize this scene? Is there an easy way to convert these complex texture networks down to BOT files and if so how do I do this?

Follow up question: Am I even on the right track?

I would appreciate any insight you all may have.
aardvark2071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 07:46 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't know if this will help, but have you tried running an Optimize Scene Size operation?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 10:41 AM   #3
aardvark2071
Registered User
 
aardvark2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, that did help a bit, but I'm still having issues rendering. I thinik there may be something unstable in the scene causing Maya to crash.

Is it possible to have to many objects in the scene? How much is too much?
aardvark2071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 11:43 AM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmm... this sounds odd. It might be a problem with your computer. What are your tech specs?

Also, are there any errors in the script editor?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2007, 07:10 PM   #5
wokendreams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mabey get rid of all the textures and apply basic ones or ones to whatever level you can. Poser most likely made the most high end shading network the creators could in order to get the most out of it. The UV's are already there so it should be simple to re texture and such so long as you mind the colour map, bum map, ect location. Also it sounds a little like your acualy describing transform nodes, in which case you just delete history.
wokendreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2007, 05:42 AM   #6
aardvark2071
Registered User
 
aardvark2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Hmm... this sounds odd. It might be a problem with your computer. What are your tech specs?

Also, are there any errors in the script editor?
XPS 700 desktop
2.6 core 2 duo processor
4 gigs of RAM
currently on a 32 bit OS

I've gotten 'fatal error,' 'free memory low exception thrown'

I ran a render diagnostic and it says the resolutions are too high on most of the figure's textures and to convert them with imgcvt or to use imf_copy to convert the files to mip-map.

I will have you know that I am not very familiar with running Maya through its command prompt.
aardvark2071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2007, 06:50 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

People here happen to have a bunch of problems with memory and 32-bit OS's. I would assume that you're using Windows (hence the problems :lmao: )?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2007, 08:43 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
People here happen to have a bunch of problems with memory and 32-bit OS's. I would assume that you're using Windows (hence the problems :lmao: )?
Low memory happens with any OS, and in this case it might be due to the 32 bit max out of 1.5 gig per process, which would happen due to the 32 bit architecture. If you want some facts and figures bout macs give me an e-mail (used to work for them).

I would probably do what woken said. IVe heard of problems people have had when trying to do what your doing.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2007, 02:57 PM   #9
aardvark2071
Registered User
 
aardvark2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it possible then, that there won't be any issues if I switch over to XP 64?

I still think its the poser texture files, but we're in the process of getting the new OS soon. I will see what happens with that, and hopefully it will solve some problems.

Thanks muches
aardvark2071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.