Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-11-2007, 10:38 AM   #1
Shredder777
Subscriber
 
Shredder777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default convert polygons to subdiv problem

ok, I dont know what I am doing wrong, everytime I want to add geomertry around my windows uing the split polygon tool or extrude, My car wont convert polygons to subdiv.

Is there something I am missing? The car is the audi RSQ concept car.

There are 2 picts I summitted, one converted and the other not converted. Thank you for the tips.

Sean
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
myspace - www.myspace.com/seansilasexperimental
Shredder777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2007, 10:40 AM   #2
Shredder777
Subscriber
 
Shredder777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RSQ

second image
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
myspace - www.myspace.com/seansilasexperimental
Shredder777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2007, 03:53 PM   #3
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Your problem is simple.... messy mesh.

Your car is littered in 3 and 5 sided faces. Now Sub-Ds Hates Triangles and well anything with more or less than 4 sides.

You want to make sure your model is in all quads if possible. The occasional Tri you might be able to get away with. BUT try your hardest to stay at 4 sided faces.

Also make sure that your mesh is normalized, and has no splits in it.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 07:06 PM   #4
Shredder777
Subscriber
 
Shredder777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

awesome! I will try that. I tried to have a better looking mesh. really tough. I will get it. when you say 3 and 5 sided, is that when the lines are triangle or etc? Do I need to have more of a square looking geomatry? This is the missing link in my way of learning how to model.

Thank you for the tip.
__________________
myspace - www.myspace.com/seansilasexperimental
Shredder777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.