Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-12-2002, 05:28 AM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Merge Vertice

I am doing the ear tutorial and I can't seem to merge vertice at all.
i went to 4 views, hold down the v key, put the vertice on top of each other and went to merge vertice and it didn't work.

Help!
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2002, 06:05 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

What do you have it set for? Try .0001 in the options.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2002, 02:14 PM   #3
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It was on .0001 and component mode

What am I doing wrong?

Either that, I can only merge one side of the verts and not the other.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2002, 12:29 PM   #4
schmick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd try upping the number a bit more
schmick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2002, 01:12 PM   #5
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

since you know you are selecting just those two verts and not more at a time, you can up the # as much as you want. By doing one set at a time, you can use .01-.1 or even more to get it to work, but it could cause problems if you select more than one set of vert's. .0001 usually works when you are sure that the verts are right on top of each other. THanks,
Brian
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2002, 04:14 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Oh, I thought he did have them on top of each other. lol My bad. :p
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.