Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-03-2008, 07:38 AM   #46
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks dj - not sure what i'm doing at the moment - just trying things out...
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 10:01 AM   #47
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good ZBrush works, maybe finish room corner I'll try to model a human.

Cheer!

lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 02:51 PM   #48
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

you could export your hand at the highest res and open it in Maya. Mirror it over so it is where you want it and export it as an obj. Open it up into zbrush and under geometry use reconstruct subdivisions to get it back to the base mesh level. Thats one way of doing it.
You can then re-load your model and add it to your sub-tools.

Keep up the good work mate
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 06:06 PM   #49
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks guys.

that makes sense leon - i'll give that a go. cheers.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 07:23 PM   #50
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

leon - that was just what i needed. cheers mate.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 08:02 AM   #51
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Fantastic work arran! Love the detail your putting on him!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 08:31 PM   #52
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks thx1138
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #53
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

well - no updates at the moment as i'm having a few problems when i assign my normal map in maya.

i started a thread a couple of days ago,

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=29292

but as no one has responded i thought i would post it here too.

basically i create a low poly version of my model in zbrush which i export to maya. i then create a 2k texture, open zmapper, choose the maya tangent node best quality configuration and export the map.

in maya i import the object and assign the psd file to the bump node making sure to change it to tangent space normals.

as you can see i'm getting some really weird bending and contour type lines on the model.

Any ideas what's causing this?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 08:55 PM   #54
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't really use PSD's much for texture files, I pretty much always just use jpgs, and for normal maps I use the highest quality compression to avoid banding and noise like that.

Maybe try a different format?

?
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 09:52 PM   #55
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks Gio - i tried saving the normal map out as a tiff from zbrush - but i am still getting the strange banding and contour lines. where would i change the compression?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 11:27 PM   #56
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just save it out as a PSD from Zbrush and then convert it in Photoshop so you have more control.

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 07:28 PM   #57
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

well, still no luck. I tried saving out as a tiff and manually converting to a tiff in ps, but either way, it still looks crap. I also tried downloading a new configuration from zbrush central, but as you can see in the close up i am still getting some weird contours and triangles when i get up close.... gggrrrr.

so now i am trying to install pixero's js normal mapper and i think i have put everything in the right place, but i'm having some trouble putting the lines:

link "{MAYABASE}/lib/JS_NormalMapper.{DSO}"

mi "{MAYABASE}/include/JS_NormalMapper.mi"

in the maya.rayrc file. i've tried every combination i can think, but still no luck. either mr won't work or it renders the model black.

If anyone knows where to put them (no rude suggestions please) and can maybe show me their maya.rayrc file, i'd really appreciate it....

Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 07:33 PM   #58
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But have you saved it out from Zbrush as a PSD first so you get no automatic compression, and then saving out as tiff or jpg from photoshop, as you said you saved it out as a tiff again and converted it to a tiff again?

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 07:40 PM   #59
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

no, i just meant that i tried saving it out as a tiff and also as a psd that i converted to a tiff in ps....

i think it may be something to do with the default bump node which is why i want to get js normal mapper to work.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 07:51 PM   #60
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah - just tried it again - as a tiff, jpeg and a targa file - all three get the same results.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Project: District 9 Tessla Riffle ctbram Work In Progress 82 20-11-2010 11:43 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.