Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-05-2008, 03:02 PM   #136
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

looks great man the only thing i can say is that the eyes look too dim
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 03:07 PM   #137
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey thanks -

yeah, you're right djblazer - the bump has a blur on the filter which i might get rid of, though the whole map needs some work.

the eye textures are really bad at the moment too - just quick photoshop.

and his head has some funny bumps and crappy ears that i need to sort out in zbrush. i'm sad i have to go back to work tomorrow.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog

Last edited by arran : 08-05-2008 at 12:53 AM.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 04:38 AM   #138
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hey Arran

Did you manage to get the Disp map in the SSS shader group?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 04:56 AM   #139
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah - thanks mate - i attached it to the displacement material under the shading group. not sure what i was doing wrong - i think i just forgot to add the mel equation to the color gain - i ended up getting rid of the blinn on my previous displacement shader and then attaching it to the mix20 which seems to work.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 03:45 AM   #140
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

more work done on the hand.

i've been having a problem in projection master. i drop the model, do some work with the clone brush and press g to pick up the model. however, when i try to rotate the model, instead it just places a ton of small copies of the model as if i was drag placing them... not helpful. the edit button isn't pressed and when i try to press it or hit t, nothing happens. the model has uvs that were done in maya.

any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 08:05 AM   #141
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thats because your in draw mode, if you clone it, that means you draw a new one, every time you click, if you want to have it in your scene, like in the 3d space, then go to Subtool, and append your hand. first copy it in you main tools.

Then append your copied hand in the subtool.

Now you have two hands in the scene, and you can switch off every subtool layer.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 05:17 PM   #142
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks aikoworld - not sure i get you. the hand was already a sub tool of my main character. i wasn't cloning it - just using the clone tool in projection master.

i think it's cos i had dots on as my stroke - when i switched it to free hand before using PM, it worked. aurick on zbrush central suggested i change it.

cheers.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 05:31 PM   #143
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, looking cool.

Looks like you are just leaving edit mode before or after projection master, so you are just scattering new models about on the canvas.

Leave edit mode and create a new doc and draw a fresh model (the main tool with all the subtools in) and try not to leave edit mode when going into or leaving Projection master.

Hope this solves the prob

Cheers

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 05:47 PM   #144
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey - thanks mate. yeah - i'm frequently having problems with edit mode - just not being able to turn it on and so having to draw my model in again. when i would pick up the model after PM it just wouldn't go back to edit mode though that seems to be cos i had dots on.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 05:51 PM   #145
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm weird, well at least you know its the dot brush that is doing it, pretty weird thou, would be cool if you submit a ticket, so they can have a look at it.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 05:53 PM   #146
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

how do i do that? and what's a ticket?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 06:02 PM   #147
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think its support@pixologic.com

subject short problem case.

And then just tell them what your problem is.

a ticket is just a problem you send them, and in pixologic`s case you cat a case number. at erain you get a ticket number, just different words for the same thing.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 06:04 PM   #148
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

got you. thanks.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 02:33 AM   #149
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

decided to take a bit of a break from this - here's a render as he is at the moment. decided to lower his arms as i felt like a few people were recommending the lower position - not sure why i had them like that anyway.

his clothes textures are still crap and there's some stuff coming through on his chest - but i need to do something else.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 02:41 AM   #150
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

here are a couple of new heads the i've been working on - both done from the same base mesh tho the top one hasn't been shaped yet cos i can't decide what i want him to look like.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Project: District 9 Tessla Riffle ctbram Work In Progress 82 20-11-2010 11:43 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.