Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2008, 05:37 AM   #1
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hardware rendering particles?

forparticles that need to be hardware rendered like sprites etc, can those render in like metnal ray? I wanna render some of my scenes in maya software or mental ray but those dont show up some particles cause those need to be hardware rendered. I do no t wanna hardware render my animations, anyone know any tips or how the professionals solve this problem? thanks
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 06:09 AM   #2
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as far as I'm aware Maya 2008 has support for particle rendering with mental ray.

I think before that you were restricted to the hardware renderer unless you instanced geometry to each particle and then it might show up in the software renderer. Dont quote me on that last bit though

Simon
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 09:05 AM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

In almost any typical production, professionals, students and hobbyists alike, rendering in multiple passes is VERY common to achieve the look and control over a given shot.

Esspecialy when it comes to particle rendering.

It is not just common, but often MANDATORY for 2 reasons:

1. In post having all the elements in a shot as a separate pass allows for the ultimate control over a multitude of things such as, time of day, light and color, matte control etc. and much more.

2. In the case of Maya 8.5 and earlier specifically, you had no choice. However, because hardware rendering uses the HARDWARE of your graphics pipeline, those renders are SUPER fast!
In most cases hardware particle rendering is near real time, around a second per frame depending on particle density, and multi-pass count.

Also, with Maya you have the luxury of assigning your hardware particles (and anything else in fact) to its' own render-layer.
This means, you can set per-render-layer override flags so that some of your layers render with MR, other layers render with the Hardware renderer and others with the software renderer.
All by simply right-clicking on the layer and telling it to use a given renderer overide

This may sound daunting to anyone using Maya, but this video made by Alias after Maya 7 added these features explain the render-layers feature very simply:
Just let it load
http://downloads.alias.com/mkt/gmk_m...der_layers.swf


Also, good job t1ck135 for pointing that out about the new feature in the new MR core as a LOT of Maya users STILL do not know that this is possible now

From the Maya 2008 "NEW FEATURES" list:

mental ray 3.6 Core
Maya 2008 uses the latest mental ray 3.6 core.....
...Additionally, particle types previously supported only in the Maya hardware renderer can now be rendered in mental ray, eliminating the need to combine outputs from multiple renderers. (i.e composited in post)

Originally posted by t1ck135
.....unless you instanced geometry to each particle....
Dont quote me on that last bit though
Too bad! I quoted you! hehe...

You are correct again
And not only does the instanced geometry render in software, it also renders in Mental Ray in 8.5 as well.

...not sure about v8 or earlier tho.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 10:07 AM   #4
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what does rendering in multiple passes mean? thanks for that long reply, im new to particles so everyone that helps i appreciate
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 10:14 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

correct me cuz i'm probably wrong,

but at a guess i THINK rendering in passes means rendering certain things from the scene, like rendering the phong illumination, hair, and ambient colours in different files (?)
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 11:02 AM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No problem

In cg slang for this example, passes = layers.

By this I mean, say you have a scene of a bouncing ball and a dancing bear. Oh, and the ball is on fire just for fun, hehe.

Your scene ultimately has 5 objects:

-the ball
-the bear
-a floor
-the fire
-a light

In Maya, each one of these objects can be put on its' own "render-layer". (see the video in my last post, very informative)
NOTE: RENDER layers are different from DISPLAY layers

When an object or objectS are on thier own layer and you send it all off to render, all of your layers are rendered as separate image sequences, i.e. "passes".

Then you can composite them back together in a compositing application like After Effects, Fusion, etc...
with individual controll over each pass.

Make a little more sense now?
If not, let us know.

PS, when in Maya, hit F1 for the main help, and search for "render layers".
OR, you can browse the main directory for rendering, and in there you will find information about the render layers feature in great detail
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 12:40 PM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Ok lets say you cvant hardware rendering because your graphics card is incapable
can you use mental ray?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 01:46 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
Ok lets say you cvant hardware rendering because your graphics card is incapable
can you use mental ray?

Simple answer is yes
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 08:20 PM   #9
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe I've finally been quoted ragecgi, cool

Simon
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 08:23 PM   #10
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

YES!!!!!!!!:attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:

finally particles will be mine!
MWHAAHAHA
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 08:34 PM   #11
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

ok
i redered using mental ray but the particles just dont show
is there anything i need to do?
thanx for any help
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 08:34 PM   #12
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by t1ck135
hehe I've finally been quoted ragecgi, cool

Simon
hehe... Theres another one for ya
Booohahaha, hehe
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 09:49 PM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
ok
i redered using mental ray but the particles just dont show
is there anything i need to do?
thanx for any help

Are you using 2008? It Works with me no probs
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 10:25 PM   #14
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

yeah im using 2008
but tthe particles are a no show
no error messages or anything
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 10:54 PM   #15
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Weird.

I do not have 2008 yet, still on 8.5 unlimited

Anyone want to help this kind sir?

Maybe you can pass-off your .mb file to see if they have any luck?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.