Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2008, 03:12 AM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Tiling textures

Hi,

you can tile them in photoshop yourself, or you can use the 2d/3d placement node to repeat it in the x or y direction, but is there another way to tile textures. Is it correct to do it by repeating them in the placement node?

Also, is it more efficient on your system to tile a texture within Maya, rather than tile it and create a larger texture in photoshop?

cheers,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2008, 03:45 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well the larger the texture file, the more maya has to do to process it. if you have a smaller texture file and then tile it in maya, maya is just reusing the information... in order to make sure the texture doesn't look bad tiled, you have to take it into photoshop or another photo editing program and pay attention to the borders. there's a tutorial here that might help. they're all over the place if you just know where to look.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2008, 03:48 AM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Thanks for the post Neostrider.

I don't have a problem making tileable textures in photoshop. I wondered though if there was another way to tile them in Maya other than repeating it in the placement node. I was sure I'd seen another way in a tutorial though I've since lost it.

Thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.