Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-02-2008, 10:57 AM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Way to use one grayscale image for several purposes?

Hi,

since you can get quite good results with one grayscale image (just adjusting contrast, brightness, saturation etc) for bump, diffuse and spec, is there a way to use just one image within maya, and be able to tweak all these depending on which attribute it is applied to?

Instead of having 3 adjusted files this woud be more efficient. I know you can tweak the settings in the 2d placement node, but that changes it for all of the outputs - is there something you can add between the file node and the attribute to get different values out of one image?

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 07:16 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

yeh just go to hypershade, and grapy your shader.
Delete all of the duplicate images except for one including their placement nodes. Then simply ctrl middle mouse drag texture to the surface shader and attach it to any channels you want.

If you want to adjust the seetings on the file texture individually such as color gain etc but retain the placement settings, duplicate the file texture in the hypergraph and ctrl mmb drag the original placement node onto it.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 07:02 AM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

thanks for the reply. I realize I can do that, but isn't that just the same as loading a seperate texture? I was wondering about having just one file texture.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
FerrariF2 - Original SM Gallery Image by Falco Fal Frida David Simply Maya Gallery 4 25-12-2010 01:42 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.