Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-03-2008, 12:58 AM   #31
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by alexanderH
these are really starting to look great jr who.
Can't wait to see this project when its all done! and as you start to model the heads for each piece too. I guess thats an important part haha.
Thanks, but… what do you mean about the heads? These pieces are finished.

Originally posted by DJbLAZER
Umm... why are they supposed to be there if the texture should hide them...?
They're there, but the texture should make them a lot less obvious. In the real thing, there's more detail (in the front), but I can't do it without ZB.

Anyway, got a bunch of the blocking out done on the table last night (sorry, no pic ) and I'm going to try to finish that and move onto the chair today.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 01:29 AM   #32
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
In the real thing, there's more detail (in the front), but I can't do it without ZB.
.

Bet you you could if you thought about it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 01:51 AM   #33
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Bet you you could if you thought about it.
I've thought about it and tried it, but it looks really messy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 05:43 AM   #34
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Not even with a disp map?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 06:18 AM   #35
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If he gonna use a displacement map he might aswell do the displacement map in ZBrush....
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 07:05 AM   #36
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Not even with a disp map?


Originally posted by DJbLAZER
If he gonna use a displacement map he might aswell do the displacement map in ZBrush....
Exactly. I am beginning to hate Pixologic a little more every time I work on this project…
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 10:15 AM   #37
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jeez, this table is proving harder than I thought, I keep discovering little details to put in. I don't even want to know how bad the chairs are going to be! Need to put a lot more work into this one…

Here's the current progress:
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 10:17 AM   #38
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here's a close-up of the bottom of the table. This is going to be a pain, cause in my reference it looks like it all meshes together, though I might just leave it separate so that I don't have to mess with booleans.

I don't know though… what would be better, joining it and screwing around with booleans, or leaving them separate?
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 04:05 PM   #39
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by DJbLAZER
If he gonna use a displacement map he might aswell do the displacement map in ZBrush....
Why If he aint got it then work round it... Sledge hammer to crack a nut... Plus Jrwho will get used to the workflow of adding a disp map to it and rendering, using a simple map over a full 32 bit floating point map.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 03:58 PM   #40
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Woah, I can't believe it's been that long since my last update! Finally got the modeling finished. The HD renders took a half an hour a piece, so I should be prepared for the Maxwell renders now.

If you look on my site, you’ll find the HD pics (which I would highly recommend doing).

-Steven
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 03:59 PM   #41
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here's the second shot. Andreas, you should be getting some mail soon.
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 05:55 PM   #42
zujalica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It looks great!
zujalica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 06:16 PM   #43
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, looking fine. I got your email but I can't answer it, I get a "unknown receiptant" when I try to send it.....

Here's what I wrote anyways:

well you only need to lay out the UV's if your material is using an image. If you only use colors there's no need for laying out the UV's. You don't have to use Studio at all, you can create materials, lights etc. and render directly from Maya with the plugin. But if you want to you export the whole scene and import it to studio and assign materials, set up lights and render from there.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 07:31 PM   #44
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks, zujalica!

Originally posted by DJbLAZER
well you only need to lay out the UV's if your material is using an image. If you only use colors there's no need for laying out the UV's. You don't have to use Studio at all, you can create materials, lights etc. and render directly from Maya with the plugin. But if you want to you export the whole scene and import it to studio and assign materials, set up lights and render from there.
OK, so that means that I don't need to map out the pieces then. Awesome, that makes it much easier!

Now, I'm going to need to map the board and some other small things, so after I map them I just apply the color map on the material like usual?

And for the material, I found a couple on the net that I like, but they need some adjusting. Is is easy to edit MXMs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 09:16 PM   #45
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The materials are pretty much the same as maya's materials except that the parameters is pretty different :p I recommend reading the manual, they explain the parameters pretty good there. Changing colors for example are easy though.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trapjaw (MOTU) W.I.P tweetytunes Work In Progress 7 13-11-2010 11:03 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.