Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2008, 10:35 AM   #1
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 2008: Mouse Wheel Zoom

Hello! I installed this earlier today and I've been playing around with it. At first I could zoom in and out of the work area with my mouse wheel, but now it won't work. I can pan, I can rotate, but no zoom. Can anyone please tell me how to fix this? Thank you in advance.
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 12:53 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

if you can't get the scroll wheel to work, don't forget that you can use alt+mouse buttons to do rotate, pan, and zoom. pressing the scroll wheel down works the same as using the mmb.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:19 PM   #3
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply!

I didn't forget, actually. Scrolling zoom doesn't work with or without pressing ALT now, and it did before. My mouse wheel works fine for everything else, and now when I use it, a red line appears to kind of skim along an axis point in four view.

Further thoughts? ^_~
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:07 AM   #4
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Bump.. could really use some help on this please.
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:13 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You got any drivers for it???

Other than that I aint a clue, I doebt its maya unless you've changed something.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:21 AM   #6
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I have drivers, but I didn't alter anything between the time it was working and the time it wasn't, haha. Thanks for the shot though.
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 03:05 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You could try deleting your maya preferences... Thats about the only things I can think of.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 04:22 AM   #8
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's not a bad idea.. I'll look up how to do that. Thank you!
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 05:05 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

go into your "my documents" folder and delete the maya>blahblah version folder.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 11:12 PM   #10
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Brilliant, that fixed it. Thank you!
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 12:49 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
go into your "my documents" folder and delete the maya>blahblah version folder.
Or the Prefs folder in that, dont want to loose any scripts in there.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 02:02 AM   #12
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd only made one script so far, so it was all good. Thanks again!
azumauta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2008, 10:50 PM   #13
tatum7496
Registered User
 
tatum7496's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: -
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ummm
__________________
Yes I am
tatum7496 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2008, 04:46 AM   #14
TheDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe you have already solved it, but if it happens again check Windows > Settings/Preferences > Preferences > Interface

The lowest option is Mouse scroll wheel enable/disable

Bye

Dave
TheDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.