Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-03-2008, 01:21 AM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Rotate and object, zero (freeze) its transformation, but keep rotation axis-possible?

Hi,

I''ve rotated an object (nurbs circle) on my rig to be used as a wrist control.

In the position it's rotated in, it matches the angle of the wrist.

Is it possible now to zero out all the channels and keep the rotation axis pointing as they are - freeze without resetting the axis to the x, y and z plane?

ta

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:52 AM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Go to Modify>> Freeze Transformations>> and press the little options box. In there you can select what transformations you want, and don't want to freeze.

__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:58 AM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi mayaniac,

thanks but that won't work... I do want to zero out the channels, but keep the rotation axis where it is. I don't even know if it's possible - if it was though, it would make my life easier (I could have the rotation axis where I want, but have the channels at zero to make resetting the position easier, without having to note them down).

cheers,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.