Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-03-2008, 04:21 PM   #1
rexrex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Freeze Transformations Error

Hi,

How can I freeze transformations again after I attached a rigid body to a mesh? I did the following:
- created a polygon cube;
- translated/scaled it;
- created an active rigid body attached to it;

Then, when I do Modify->Freeze Transformation, I get this error:

"Error: Freeze Transform was not applied because pCube1.translateX has incoming connection."

What does this mean, how can I freeze transformations after I attach a rigid body?

Thanks.
rexrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2008, 02:33 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i think you kill the history and freeze transformations before you make it into a rigid body.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2008, 04:44 AM   #3
rexrex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, but does that mean that once I create the rigid body it's not possible to freeze transformations anymore?

So if I decide to rotate the cube after I create the rigid body, I have to delete the body, rotate cube, freeze, then create the rigid body again?
rexrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2008, 06:34 AM   #4
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

plan your work better so you know what you are doing.

if you want to work on the fly like that, yes i think you will have to create it again.., so get it where you want it, do what needs to be done freezing it, whatever.., then work from that.

block it out first

create a camera so you can look through it and see the same scene from the same angle everytime

or key frame the perspective camera at 1.., that what if you move it yo just need to hit rewind and you are back inplace.

someone else might have a beter clue than me but it sounds like you need to make some clear decisions for yourself
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2008, 08:18 AM   #5
rexrex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll just only create the rigid bodies at the end then, after everything is in place and I've frozen the transformations. Thanks!
rexrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.