Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-03-2008, 10:56 AM   #1
shmey2
Subscriber
 
shmey2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Zbrush Displacement to Maya Problems

Hi All,

Now I've been racking my brain to try and figure this out and it I've tried everything that I know, but it's not working properly. So, I decided the last resort was to post here and maybe someone could help me figure out what is going wrong.

I making Yoda's head from Star Wars, more like the Yoda of Episode II and Episode III. I built a low-poly mesh for his head in Maya, smoothed it out and exported the .obj to Zbrush. Here is the wireframe of the Maya head.


This is what the Zbrush, level 5 final head looks like.

I added the ridges and added some skin-like features. For now, I'm happy with the way he looks. So I put the subdivision level back to 1, switch back to my morph target and hit create displacement map with Adaptive. It creates it and then I export it as a .tif and here is what I get.

To me, it looks fine. I brought it into photoshop and flipped it vertically to make sure the map gets applied correctly.

Back in Maya, I want to render it out with Mental Ray. I changed the attribute properties to Spatial, etc. I also unchecked feature displacement for the mesh. I created a blinn with a dsiplacement map and used the file shown above. I also changed one of the values to -0.5 (the correct one). I then tried to render out with Mental Ray and got this


Can anybody help me as to why this isn't working properly? Why am I not getting the wrinkles, the head grooves, etc.? Is there just a setting? Any help is greatly appreciated!

-MiKe
shmey2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 07:19 PM   #2
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Hmm create yoda you have, hmmm?
looks good.
First of all you should use the blur
_smudge tool to get rid off that black and white ridges and maybe fiddle with the contrast value.
I also remembered that the guy from the tutorial converted his image to greyscale, and i got the same errors so i let it stay at 8 bit rgb imageand it worked just fine. you could also adjust the values to -1 and 2 to bring out more maybe that helps other than that i cannot help you, sorry
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.