Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-04-2009, 11:03 PM   #16
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

another
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 01:24 AM   #17
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Finished the canons inside the chassy and wings. Working on the grenade canon thing under the cockpit. Anyone know of any plugins to help uv unwrap or shall i just get on and do it manually?
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 01:28 AM   #18
antiant
Subscriber
 
antiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heaps of modeling hey. Big project.
looking good.
Why not just use cylidrical maping on the gun, and for the few planes just do a plane projection.
__________________
There's nothing normal about normals. In FACT i think the are abnormal.
antiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 01:44 AM   #19
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers ant, yep sounds like i will try and do what you said. But i dont know if its going to be worth it since my comp wont beable to render high res textures. But maybe i wont see much if i animate the camera properly?
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 04:17 AM   #20
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by meredith
Anyone know of any plugins to help uv unwrap or shall i just get on and do it manually?
roadkill is the usual suggestion, its free

or you can pay $300US and get yourself headus UV

there are other free UV mapping tools to help assist, either way you need to move UVs around manually every so often

you might be able to do it faster doing ant's suggestion though

nice work on the chinook, reminds of the command and conquer generals game


btw, is that landing gear all done with polys or did you do some bump/normal/displacement mapping?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 30-04-2009 at 04:20 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 02:48 AM   #21
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey chirone
Cheers man, i think i might just do it manually unless i can find a copy of that plugin. Wheels and landing gear are all modeled with geometry. Makes my comp lag but i reckon it beats a bump map.
Almost finished modeling, kinda looking forward to uv unwrapping. So i should really move on while it lasts
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 03:03 AM   #22
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

once you've laid out the UVs you can actually use the Render > Transfer Maps and bake yourself a displacement map

it'll save you some polys and processing power and still keep the details
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 03:54 AM   #23
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers man, havn't heard of that before. I'll give maya help a search and try and find some more about it. More processing power = good times
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:41 AM   #24
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

This model is rendering really clean!

Very good work, i can see you have patience as well, thats where i usually cheat on the detailing.
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:26 AM   #25
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks paldav
I dont have that much patience, my images are taking 25mins to render :headbang:
I love what you are doing in your star-wars thread. The scene your building if awesome. Cheers for your post

Finished modeling. Had some trouble with the blin material on the windows looking correct.
Would love to shoot out some more renders, but can only render when i'm not working. Does anyone know of a way to render more than one shot from different cameras one after the other while saving them. Since it would be ideal to shoot off a whole lot of renders while im sleeping
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:39 AM   #26
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

command line render:
http://www.3dtotal.com/team/Tutorial.../command01.asp

this will show you how to do it, all the flags you can use are listed somewhere... can't remember where... maybe in the help files but i saw them all on the web once
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 07:36 AM   #27
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks heaps chirone!
I've set it all up so it can be rendered through the terminal. But i am on a mac so i cant save my multiple commanded txt file as a .bat which maya uses to batch render all the files. Is there anyway of changing this .txt file to a file that maya reads? And how do i execute this in the terminal?
At the moment i have got a separate scene for every camera angle. Is this the best way? or can you just create lots of cameras in the one scene and command it someway to render all cameras?
Thanks for the awesome info chirone, helps really appreciated!
Mark
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:22 AM   #28
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

another think the colors off
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:31 AM   #29
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by meredith
Thanks heaps chirone!
I've set it all up so it can be rendered through the terminal. But i am on a mac so i cant save my multiple commanded txt file as a .bat which maya uses to batch render all the files. Is there anyway of changing this .txt file to a file that maya reads? And how do i execute this in the terminal?
At the moment i have got a separate scene for every camera angle. Is this the best way? or can you just create lots of cameras in the one scene and command it someway to render all cameras?
Thanks for the awesome info chirone, helps really appreciated!
Mark
you can rename a .txt file to a .sh file and run it from terminal
but you need to change the permissions on it first
type:
Code:
sudo chmod 744 script.sh
assuming your file is called script.sh and you've pointed terminal to the directory it resides in
i think you'll need to type in your user's password to
you only need to do that once

then type
Code:
./script.sh
and it should run the .sh file like windows would with a .bat file

so i'm told. i tend to stop paying attention whenever my friend did these terminal hacks... but that's what he says to do

i don't think you can get maya to read the txt files, it only understands .mel and .py
although gster123 mentioned that there are scripts on highend3d that can render different cameras too, but i haven't looked

i'm not sure if having a seperate scene for each camera angle is better than having a single scene with multiple cameras
i thought it more common to do the latter
unless the chinook is referenced in all of the scenes except for the one you're working with i'd say it's better to have all cameras in one scene, that way, when you update the chinook in one scene you don't have to do the same updates in the others. (never used referencing, so i don't know how much effort is involved)
i think it might come down to how you want to organise your files on your disk...

either way you can use the command line.
you are able to tell it what camera to render from and what frames to render.

http://caad.arch.ethz.ch/info/maya/m...ender.fm1.html

http://www.jawa9000.com/Technical/ba...-rendering.htm

from the looks of these you can switch the camera using -cam <camera_name>


can't say anything about the colour... i thought that was teh look you were going for
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:23 AM   #30
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

awesome man!
Thanks soo much, this will make it much easier.
Where in nz are you based?
Bit more modeling to do, but i'm going to go onto the uv unwrapping now
Attached Thumbnails
 
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.