Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-04-2008, 03:48 AM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default Anyone with a geoforce 8600m gt grfixcard

im thinking of buying a macbook but for the life of me i cant find out if maya works with this graphix card
does anybody know?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 04:09 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Looks like it works to me:
http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya...sion2_mac.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 02:53 PM   #3
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

It would appear your right
cheers
by the looks of everything ive found the issues for this graphics card are limited to pcs
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 03:07 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Look a bit further down on the "General Notes About Graphics Cards on Mac Workstations"
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 11:02 PM   #5
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

theres nothing there worse than what i got now by a long shot
you really dont want me to get a mac do you Gster123?
anyway im not gonna buy one straight away, if at all cos i dont need it just yet, ill probably wait untill the next update thing comes out
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 12:09 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you want a mac get one, its your money at the end of the day, I was happy with people buying them, I was just pointing out that the GFX problems arnt just PC specific as it says on autodesks site.... Just have a proper look about before making a decision as you dont actually use your OS that much so to speak you use the software.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 12:33 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Just have a proper look about before making a decision as you dont actually use your OS that much so to speak you use the software.
Woah, that is like the complete opposite of true. You use your OS every day. Every time you start your computer, you use the OS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 12:55 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

No way, I though it was magic...

I didnt mean it like that, you dont start your computer then mess about with your OS fiddeling with things native to the OS do you for a productive day? Do you use use finder to write a report, devidce manager to search the internet?? Course you dont , You start it up open a programme (software) then use that, your OS is in the back doing the work but you dont notice it as your using the software, hence you dont actually use it that much (even though its there doing its job)...
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle

Last edited by gster123 : 17-04-2008 at 12:58 AM.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 01:52 AM   #9
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

yes but having said that macs are more stable than windows so when your running those programmes it works, most of the time (which is more than can be said for vista)
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 01:55 AM   #10
alexanderH
Subscriber
 
alexanderH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

agreed.
I've a Mac and a PC. I love them together and hate them equally when apart.
Both Operating systems have problems.
They mimic each other in most results just sometimes you take a different path to get the result. for example, on the single button mouse you control+click for a right-click. Sure in windows its a right-click.

If you are more comfortable with a mac, get a mac, if not get a PC. If you are looking for the best animation machine out of the box for price/value and not so concerned about changing your workflow (then again maybe not) then like Gster said, make sure you get all your info straight. As no-biased as possible as it will benefit only you in the end.
__________________
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
______________________________
Wip:
iMac
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 02:05 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
yes but having said that macs are more stable than windows so when your running those programmes it works, most of the time (which is more than can be said for vista)

I couldent tell any difference in stability between OSX and XP, in fact OSX fell over a lot compared to windows with tiger.

As for running programmes yeah your spot on your not going to get a crash on a lot things, max, Zbrush (maybe one day you might), mudbox, XSi, Headus etc etc so suppose your right.

Gonna leave it at that before this gets locked
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 02:18 AM   #12
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

ok
i think i can make up my mind now
thanx for the input guys
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2008, 09:18 PM   #13
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
yes but having said that macs are more stable than windows so when your running those programmes it works, most of the time (which is more than can be said for vista)
HA! You haven't seen what a bunch of noobs can do with a Mac. I've seen them crash it in all kinds of ways! :p

As for Vista... well.. that's a whole 'nother can o' worms.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2008, 02:38 AM   #14
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Thanx for the help

im certainly not gonna buy one straight away, if at all
i need to think about it and question why i want one
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Artega GT Acid44 Work In Progress 7 06-11-2010 10:30 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.