Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-04-2008, 05:50 AM   #1
billtekker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Slow, choppy playback

HI,

I'm having some problems with my timeline playback. It was all working fine, playing back at real-time (25fps) until yesterday, when my PC decided to crash. Since then the playback has been really slow and choppy.The animation in earlier scenes of the same project without lighting set-ups etc works fine still but the later ones don't. I thought it might have something to do with the lights but I've tried deleting them and the playback is still bad. Has anyone come across this problem before?
billtekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2008, 02:40 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

if your computer doesn't play back real-time in the timeline, i recommend doing playblasts... they don't take much time to create and you can watch them over and over again in something like windows media player.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 02:25 AM   #3
billtekker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll try it. Would be nice to be able to scrub through the timeline and play the scene properly so that I can spot changes I want to make more easily though.
billtekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:14 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Your prefs or your Maya installation got messed up maybe? :s
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 01:17 PM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

heh i've never been able to just scrub through a timeline... but then again i've never had a computer that was considered 'state of the art'

...or even new lol
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 07-05-2008 at 01:21 PM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.