Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-06-2008, 01:02 AM   #1
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Missing modelling menu?

I can not seem to find modelling in the drop down menu that consists of polygons, surfaces, rendering, animation, etc. Can anybody explain why? I have the latest version of Maya installed.
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 01:14 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Hi lewis , after version 7 of Maya the modelling menu was split into two menus Polygons and Surfaces , all the old tools are still available but under one of these two new menus.
Nurbs tools will be under surfaces and the polygons tools will obviously be under the polygon menu set.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 04:46 AM   #3
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Smile

Thanks for the reply. I found all the tools under the menus that you mentioned but I hoped to have them all in one...guess not.
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 05:20 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

You could create a custom shelf and put the tools you want from each menu set together on that if you really wanted them easily accessible.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 06:40 AM   #5
Trever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi guy's I understand Modeling has been split up between Polygons and Surfaces. When I am asked to (Select Edit NURBS > Insert Isoparms) and make any changes. wher do I find the Edit Nurbs button?
Thanks
Trev
Trever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 03:16 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

It's in the Surfaces menu set. You can also use the hotbox if you're not sure where to look, since all the menus are there.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Trever (15-02-2013)

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.