Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-06-2008, 06:06 PM   #1
gputhige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default tricycle chain

Hi
I have been modelling a tricycle - just the ones small kids run around on. I have a problem with the chain. Can anyone help with the process? I have a few sites giving me the scripts but I want to do it self.

Thanks.
GP
gputhige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2008, 07:34 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Here is a quick tutorial if you want to animate it

http://www.alloypictures.com/HTML/ChainTutorial.htm
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2008, 09:05 AM   #3
gputhige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default tricycle chain

Hi
Thanks for the tutorial. I have tried this with good result. However, , one problem. I am left with a bunch of curves and locators at the end of the scene. Plus, duplicating the links and deleting the keys manually is time consuming.

Any suggestions on improvements on this? Thanks

GP
gputhige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2008, 03:47 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

OH i see you want the instant chain button on the keyboard..lol

Modelling IS time consuming, you can find ways to save little bits of time but ultimately you have to put the time in to achieve what you want.

You could create one link and duplicate it along a curve which you have drawn.
Another way wold be just to duplicate a single link and move it over to the correct position for the second link and then use duplicate with transform or duplicate special to get the rest, but you will still have to work the corners.

I have seen MEL creation scripts for Tank tracks but not for chains that do not have dynamics attatched.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2008, 05:55 PM   #5
gputhige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not too worried on the process as much on the bunch of curves and locators lying around. Just not too comfy with so many of these in the outliner. I plan to have a chain with over 100 links and that would have about 100 curves and locators all over the place. Very crowded!!!.

Wondering if I can use only one curve and one locator to achive this. I wrote a mel script earlier for motion path for an escalator with about 40 steps, so could use a similar one to duplicate the links.

One other problem with the above process is that after a couple of rotations of the locator (more than 360), the links start to drift apart ??

Not sure why this is happening.

Rgds,

GP
gputhige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2008, 11:55 AM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i dunno about you guys, but the only tricycles i can think of that little kids ride don't have a chain at all... the pedals were actually attached to the axis of the front wheel... this applies to not only the trikes that were made of metal with actual tires and spokes and chrome handlebars, but also to the tonka/hot wheels trikes made almost entirely out of plastic...


now you don't even need a chain! =D

(if you do still want one though, do a google search for tank tread animation cause it's the same premise)
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2008, 01:53 PM   #7
gputhige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thats a good one. Come to think of it, I dont see any tricycles with chains. Wonder where I got this image with a chain.

Anyways, I still have the problem with the chain - tricycle or bicycle!!.

The tank tread I saw on google is for motion path animation which I have alread done for a previous model of mine .. an escalator. This is linked to the frames with a start and end time and is animated when you play. What I am looking for is to have the chain linked to the cycle so that when I move the cycle, the chain starts rotating. Just like the ones we see.


Cheers

GP
gputhige is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.