Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-06-2008, 06:50 PM   #1
jt_04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Basic animation question - importing X,Y,Z path data

Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to Maya. I'm working on a project where we video butterflies using two high-speed cameras. Using Matlab, we then track a certain point on the butterfly in both camera views and obtain the X,Y,Z position of that point versus time.

I am trying to figure out how to animate a butterfly along that path in Maya. Right now I am just starting out with small steps (trying to animate a rigid butterfly along a single path). My data comes in a txt file with the columns:

time X Y Z

My question is: what is the best way to animate an object along that path defined in my text file? We can do it by manually typing in the X,Y,Z using the keyframe animation procedure, but that is painstaking.

Is there a way to import my X,Y,Z data into some sort of motion path, then I can just attach my object to the path and animate it?

Or should I create a .anim file from my data and read that in?

Any ideas would be awesome! Thanks!
jt_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2008, 07:53 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I believe you have to have Maya Unlimited to be able to do this although not 100% certain but in Maya Live you can go to track and then select import track points which should allow you to navigate to your txt file with the data.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 25-06-2008 at 10:00 PM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2008, 11:27 PM   #3
jt_04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot! I'm using the student version, and when i click on the Maya Live plugin, it says I don't have a license for it. bummer. thanks for your help though!
jt_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 09:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.