Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-07-2008, 05:37 AM   #16
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

yeah, skeletons don't work good (if at all) with anything but polygons.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 06:52 PM   #17
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

when doing clothes, is it better to model the clothes on the initial davinci pose? or since i dont think im using nCloth would it be best to block the clothes out on the final position?

btw, the position shown in the other post is gonna change to a different one... it's too hard to figure out where i want his arms to be...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 03:01 AM   #18
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I would model it right out of the skin in the final pose. meaning just select the faces that encompass the shirt and extrude them and tweak them to look like cloth.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 04:26 AM   #19
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
when doing clothes, is it better to model the clothes on the initial davinci pose? or since i dont think im using nCloth would it be best to block the clothes out on the final position?

btw, the position shown in the other post is gonna change to a different one... it's too hard to figure out where i want his arms to be...

Depends on what you want, animation or still
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 07:32 AM   #20
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Hey!

Well I was away most of this weekend (Friday, and Saturday)
With some friends, and we went to see Hellboy 2 Whoot! It was sweet!

Anyway, I'm just posting to show you guys the image thats given me the inspiration for my piece:

SHEER TERROR
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 07:38 AM   #21
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

HAHA, that's a brilliant picture!!

if you model an expression like that then i'm gonna cry :bow:

as for clothes... i just copied the mesh of my character and deleted particular verticies and binded it to the skeleton then put it into position and edited the ugly result...

editing weights is such a pain...

oh and my laptop cries at the sheer volume of verticies it has to calculate for nCloth... i'll need to get a more powerful machine sometime...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 13-07-2008 at 07:41 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 09:38 AM   #22
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I'll start tomorrow, I've been really busy with some stuff with my morrowind mod, and also with stuff over at Tamriel Rebuilt....
-Andy
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 11:11 AM   #23
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

heh, way to make me feel bad :p
but then i think you guys have been doing this longer than me so i suppose its only natural to take a while doing something i haven't done before
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 01:49 PM   #24
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

render test with just plain lambert materials

the scene is lit up by a spot light from the front.... this will have to change, and so will the materials...

also, need to decide if i'll keep that stick as a stick or make it into his trident, and decide if i'll be showing his wings

if they show they might obscure the trident unless i only add one, once one wing is cool and all...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 02:26 PM   #25
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Ha, If I model that expression I think I might cry

No, but really... I'll probably just model a solid base mesh in Maya or Silo, and then import it into ZBrush. To get the facial detail in place, although... If i do it in Silo, I can just do all my sculpting in there... hmm. I'll have to see how it goes.

as for your render. It's a bit too dark to see anything, but what I can see looks good.

Anyway, I'm starting my model tomorrow, So I should (hopefully) have something to post.

Oh, and if you think your computer crap.. Heres the one I work on when I'm at home (80% of the time)

heres it's specs straight from my computers properties: (don't laugh!)

AMD Athlon XP 1800+
1.53 GHz, 512MB of RAM

And my graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
I have 140GB Hard drive.... and to top it off. I'm looking through a 16" MAG screen.

The other Comp (that I don't get use as much) is ALLOT better.

__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 03:57 PM   #26
amoeba
Registered User
 
amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looking good so far, I'll be watching this!
And for the system specs, you shouldn't complain:
Before I got a new comp (2 days ago) I was using a mac with the following Specs:
300 MHz processor
400something megabytes ram (if you really want to know, its 256 + 64 + 64 + 128)

now it's around the same level as yours...
733 MHz
1 gig ram.


Just don't always say your comp sucks...
__________________
W.I.P's
-
Finished work
Mech
amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 04:24 PM   #27
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

texture mapping the clothes is a real pain due to the UVs being scattered all over the place, and laying out the uvs so they don't overlap is confusing.... too many polygons! :p
i think i'll just fix the textures for the clothes that were derived from the body in photoshop... although i'd have to come up with a proper solution if i was to use this model properly...


amoeba: is that a mac that doesn't have an intel core?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 05:26 PM   #28
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Chirone, for future reference use the copy weights tool when adding clothing over a character, saves you painting the weights to another bit of geo as its a pain to match. If you then animate the character with the clothing and then after animation convert to ncloth you'll get a nice result (thats the autodesk workflow)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 09:48 PM   #29
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

ah cool

thanks for the tip!

will remember that in future

anyway, my mouse batteries are dead so i can't work on anything until its back (i never got used to the mousepad)

anyway, this is the latest render test

wings are an important part of life to me, and its sure hard to get the top part right....
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 09:53 PM   #30
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

the top row is too dark
i accidentally hit the "darker" variation in photoshop twice instead of once...
i'll fix that up sometime, since it just looks off and not grey enough
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.